Lambdin, Raymond Are One-Two Punch In Cross Country Win

Belmont, Calif.---San Jose State's Kate Lambdin finished first place individually and helped her team to a first place team victory at the Battle of the Bay meet on September 4.

     36 seconds separated the top two teams as the Spartans finished with a team score of 36. That gave them the narrow edge over Cal State Eastbay who finished second with 40.

     Kate Lambdin and Elizabeth Raymond's first and second place finishes helped San Jose State fend off CS East Bay who had four top-ten finishers.

     Lambdin, a junior,  won the 2.95 mile race with her time of 18:48, just 14 seconds ahead of teammate Raymond (19:02), who took second place overall.

     The Spartans would have another top-ten finisher in senior, Lauren Dubay, who finished eighth overall with a time of 19:52.

     Victoria Smith (20:05), and Spartan newcomer Nicole Haggerty (20:13) rounded out the scorers for San Jose State. Hannah McClintock (20:27) and Megan Arias (20:38) were both top-20 finishers in the field made of nine schools, but were not used in the final Spartan team score.

     "I'm impressed with how hard and smart our team ran this race," said Spartans' head coach Augie Argabright. "It was a close individual race until Kate pulled away from the field with about a mile left, and ended up bringing Beth (Raymond) with her for a one-two Spartan finish."

     San Jose State women's cross country gets back to action on Saturday, September 18, at the Uc Riverside Invitational in Riverside, Calif.

Team Results:
San Jose State 36
Cal State East Bay 40
Holy Names 100
De Anza 122
Pacific 128
Cal State Monterey 144
Mills College 208
Bethany (Cal.) 218
Notre Dame De Namur 221

SJSU Results:
1. Kate Lambdin 18:48  1
2. Elizabeth Raymond 19:02  2
3. Lauren Dubay 19:52  8
4. Victoria Smith 20:05  12
5. Nicole Haggerty 20:13  13
6. Hannah McClintock 20:27  16
7. Megan Arias 20:38  18

Top-5 Finishers:
1. Kate Lambdin (SJSU) 18:48
2. Elizabeth Raymond (SJSU) 19:02
3. Agnes Silvestro (HNU) 19:15
4. Megan McDaniel (CSEB) 19:17
5. Amanda McNabb (CSEB) 19:26