Record Number Of Student-Athletes To Be Honored At Honors Convocation Friday

April 12, 2016

For the third consecutive year, a record number of San Jose State University student-athletes and cheerleaders will be recognized for exceptional academic achievements at the University’s annual Honors Convocation.

The 2016 University-wide celebration is Friday, April 15, at The Event Center beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Fifty-nine (59) current and recent student-athletes and cheerleaders are among more than 4,100 undergraduate students designated either as President’s Scholars or Dean’s Scholars. A President’s Scholar is a student who earned a 4.00 grade-point average at the University in at least two contiguous of the three semesters prior to the Honors Convocation. A Dean’s Scholar is a student who achieved a 3.65 grade-point average during the same academic span. For the 54th annual Honors Convocation, the Fall 2015, Spring 2015 and Fall 2014 semesters were used.

"We are extremely proud of our San José State student-athletes who excel in the classroom. Setting a new all-time high again for sports representation and the number of student-athletes being honored recognizes the value our student-athletes, coaches and student-athlete support staff place on academic achievement," says Liz Jarnigan, San José State senior associate athletics director and director of student-athlete success services.

The 59 honorees surpass the 56 President’s and Dean’s Scholars in 2015 and 42 in 2014. A record number 18 of the Spartans’ NCAA Division I-sponsored sports programs are represented. The women’s gymnastics team’s 12 honorees are the most ever for one program. Women’s tennis, men’s cross country and gymnastics have more than 50 percent of its team members earning this exceptional academic distinction.

Overall, 28 student-athletes earned San Jose State University President’s or Dean’s Scholar status for at least the second time. Men’s soccer goalkeeper Felix Petermann, women’s basketball player Emily Vann and former cross country and track and field runners Breanna and Rebecca Garcia are President’s Scholars again. The nine President’s Scholars are an all-time high for San Jose State athletics.

“These student-athletes and their accomplishments represent the character and excellence we seek in our student-athletes. Congratulations to these outstanding Spartans. This news is the latest in a series of academic successes we foresee announcing in the coming weeks,” says San Jose State athletics director Gene Bleymaier.

President’s Scholars (9)

Name Sport Major
Breanna Garcia Women's Cross Country Psychology
Rebecca Garcia Women's Cross Country Psychology
Adrianne Manseau Gymnastics Communication Studies
Abbie Pahz Tennis Kinesiology
Felix Petermann Men's Soccer Public Relations
Madiha Raza Women's Track & Field Business Administration/Marketing
Gaelle Rey Tennis Business Administration/Managment
Emily Vann Women's Basketball Public Relations
Julie Sam Volleyball Hospitality, Tourism & Event Managment

Dean’s Scholars (50)

Name Sport Major
Patricia Aubel Gymnastics Applied Mathematics
Summer Avery Volleyball Kinesiology
Julianna Bacelar Tennis Business Administration/Finance
Oscar Barron Football Political Science
Allison Bellingham Gymnastics Business Adminstration/Accounting
Amy Bellingham Gymnastics Child & Adolescent Development
Claire Berkley Women's Soccer Businiess Administration/Management
Alisa Bogdan Gymnastics Undecided
Ben Branagh Men's Cross Country Sociology
Isadora Busch Tennis Advertising
Garrick Chan Men's Cross Country Art/Animation/Illustration
Paige Collins Cheerleading Child & Adolescent Development
Jonathan Colunga Men's Soccer Spanish
Michelle Cox Softball Business Administration/Accounting
Tim Crawley Football Business Administration/Management Information Systems
Ta'Rea Cunnigan Women's Basketball Psychology
Justine Deleval Tennis Businiess Administration/Finance
Jannik Ernst Men's Cross Country Business Administration/Management
Kiley Field Gymnastics Nutritional Science
Cami Guyer Gymnastics Justice Studies
Rachel Henry Women's Water Polo Justice Studies
Maddie Herr Gymnastics Business Administration/Entrepreneurship
Jamie Hirai Volleyball Business Administration/Accounting
Jasmine Holmes Gymnastics Health Sciences
Craig Huff Men's Cross Country Undeclared
Jessie Hufstetler Softball Recreation
Nicole Iloanya Women's Track & Field Political Science
Chelsea Jenner Softball Communication Studies
Kelsey Johnson-Upshaw Women's Track & Field Kinesiology
Gabrielle Kambur Gymnastics Business Administration/International Business
Bradley Keyer Men's Golf Psychology
Allison Kimura Women's Cross Country/Track Kinesiology
Marie Klocker Tennis Business Administration
Katelyn Linford Softball Mechanical Engineering
Jamison Loveless Men's Soccer Civil Engineering
Erica Matos Gymnastics Kinesiology
McElle McCartney Gymnastics Advertising
Sabrina Miller Women's Soccer Business Administration/Marketing
Karina Nunes Women's Cross Country Psychology
Arturo Osorio Men's Soccer Business Administration/International Business
Stephanie Rebagliati Women's Soccer Kinesiology
Cari Reiswig Women's Swimming & Diving Journalism
Marcus Rogers Football Journalism
Yavianliz Rosado Volleyball Political Science
Nicholas Sherrell Men's Cross Country Radio/TV/Film
Mike Simonini Baseball Communication Studies
Katelynn Thompson Women's Water Polo Kinesiology
Nate Velichko Football Kinesiology
Casey Watt Softball Kinesiology