Women's Cross Country Opens 2014 5th At USF Invitational

Karina Nunes was the third Spartan to cross the finish line at the USF Invitational.
Aug. 30, 2014

Complete Meet Results Get Acrobat Reader

San Francisco, Calif. -- The San José State University women's cross country team placed fifth out seven teams with a 123 team score at the University of San Francisco Invitational.

San José was led by newcomer Jenny Beckingham who finished 15th with an 18:07.7 time on the 5k Speedway Meadow course in Golden Gate Park.

"The women's team had a solid start to their season. Jenny led our team today. She is a middle distance standout on the track, but really showed she has range and will be a huge boost to our cross country squad," said Brad Wick, San José State University assistant cross country and track and field coach. "Karina Nunes and Allie Kamura both put in big summer miles and it paid off with two personal bests and were a strong number three and number four runner for us."

Senior Rebecca Garcia followed Beckingham finishing 21st with a time of 19:19.5. Nunes (19:34.5, 31st), Kimura (19:39.4, 33rd), Melanie Fujiwara (19:44.8, 34th) rounded out the Spartans' top five in the team scoring.

Cal State Northridge's Elizabeth Nelson won the race with a time of 17:54.1. Stanford took top team honors with 25. Cal with 51 and host USF with 61 rounded out the top three teams.

The Spartans will next travel to Fresno, Calif. to run in the Fresno State Invitational on Friday, October 5.

University of San Francisco Invitational

5,000 Meters

Speedway Meadow, San Francisco, Calif.

August 30, 2014

Team Results:

1. Stanford 25

2. California 51

3. San Francisco 61

4. Santa Clara 110

5. San Jose State 123

6. Cal State Northridge 140

7. Pacific 187

Leading Individuals:

1. Elizabeth Nelson, Cal State Northridge 17:54.1

2. Megan Bordes, California 17:59.5

3. Vanessa Fraser, Stanford 18:02.4

4. Sophie Chase, Stanford 18:02.4

5. Molly McNamara, Stanford 18:02.4

San José State Results:

15. Jenny Beckingham 18:51.1

21. Rebecca Garcia 19:19.5

31. Karina Nunes 19:34.5

33. Allison Kimura 19:39.4

34. Melanie Fujiwara 19:44.8

42. Marissa Buckley 19:59.2

47. Diana Orozco 20:15.8

54. Lalida Maokhamphiou 20:36.9

60. Miranda Dos Santos 20:45.1

67. Breanna Garcia 21:15.1

71. Marayne Martin 21:37.7

72. Agnes Portal 21:33.3

84. Jessica Stacey 22:52.4