Eight Earn National Academic Water Polo Honors

Colorado Springs, Colo.-----Recent graduate Bridget McKee led a group of eight San Jose State University players named to the 2010 Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) All-Academic Awards.

            An anthropology major, McKee (Newbury Park, Calif.) became the first Spartan to earn three national academic awards from the ACWPC.

            Kelly Stewart (Surrey, British Columbia), an economics major; Megan Lane (Brea, Calif.), a communicative disorders and sciences major; Ally Waasted (Orange, Calif.), a kinesiology major; Dani Curran (Chino, Calif.), an international business major; Alyssa Friesen (Clovis, Calif.), a communication studies major; and freshmen Kimber Methvin (Porterville, Calif.); and Anna Natalizio (Irvine, Calif.) joined McKee as award winners.

            Lane, Stewart and Friesen each earned their second national award from the ACWPC.

            The eight awards exceeded the previous program best of seven by the 2009 team.

            To qualify for an award, a student-athlete must have a minimum of a 3.20 grade-point average on a 4.00 scale and be a significant player for her team.