Eight Spartans ACWPC All-Academic Award Winners

Colorado Springs, Colo.----Kelly Stewart made four-for-four and for the third year in a row ,eight San Jose State University student-athletes earned national academic awards from the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC).

            Stewart (Surrey, B.C.), an economics major who completed her San Jose State playing career in 2012, is the first Spartan to earn the All-Academic award four times. Ally Waasted (Orange, Calif.), a kinesiology major who also finished her college career in 2012, juniors Kimber Methvin (Porterville, Calif.), a recreation and leisure studies major, and Anna Natalizio (Irvine, Calif.), a justice major; sophomore Rachel Henry (Santa Cruz, Calif.) and freshmen Sydney Witt (Vista, Calif.), Christina Kouvousis (Coquitlam, B.C.) and Victoria Smith (Vancouver, B.C.) are this year's winners.

            Waasted and Methvin now are three-time recipients of the national academic award from the ACWPC. Natalizio and Henry earned their second award.

            To be recognized, a water polo player must have a 3.20 or higher cumulative grade-point average and be a significant contributor to the team's performance in the pool.

            Since 2009, San Jose State women's water polo players received 31 awards - more than any other four-year period since the awards program was conceived prior to 2006.