National Academic Honors For San Jose State Women's Water Polo

July 5, 2018

2018 ACWPC All-Academic Team Get Acrobat Reader

Bridgeport, Pa.----- The San Jose State University women's water polo team and 10 of its players were honored by the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) for academic performance during the 2017-18 academic year.

Seniors Jennifer Liu, Klaudia Paradi, Tayler Peters and Katelynn Thompson; juniors Michelle Taikeff and Shannon Spence; and freshmen Riley Agerbeek, Natalie Hosmer, Isabella Schmidt, and Tyanna Supreme earned individual honors for achieving a grade-point average of 3.20 or higher.

In addition, the Spartans were one of the 54 teams cited for having a team grade-point average of 3.00 or higher.

"I'm very proud that we had a significant number of our players earn national recognition this year for their academics. It shows their dedication to their academics while competing in intercollegiate athletics," said San Jose State University women's water polo head coach Gabor Sarusi.

For goalkeepers Peters and Thompson, it was their third national academic award from the ACWPC, and the second for field players Liu, Paradi, Taikeff and goalkeeper Spence.

"Congratulations to our women's water polo team for earning these national academic awards for their individual and team accomplishments again. We have amazing students who also are outstanding student-athletes, too," said Eileen Daley, San Jose State University senior associate athletics director for academics and student services.

In the last two years, the Spartans received 24 individual ACWPC All-Academic awards and also were honored by the ACWPC for team academic performance. San Jose State women's water polo players also earned 14 individual honors for academic excellence from the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation.