Ten Spartans Named MPSF All-Academic

Woodland, Calif.-----A school record ten San Jose State University players were named to the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) All-Academic team for the sport of women's water polo covering the 2010 season.

            Recently-graduated Bridget McKee, recognized as one of the University's two 2010 Outstanding Graduating Seniors at San Jose State's annual commencement ceremony, earned her third Mountain Pacific Sports Federation All-Academic team honor in as many years. McKee, an anthropology major from Newbury Park, Calif., graduated summa cum laude with a 3.87 grade-point average on a 4.00 scale.

            Alyssa Friesen, a communications studies major, is the Spartans' other multiple award honoree. The junior from Clovis, Calif., earned her first all-conference all-academic honor in 2009.

            Sophomores Kelly Stewart, an economics major from Surrey, British Columbia; Megan Lane, a communicative disorders and sciences major from Brea, Calif.; Ally Waasted, a kinesiology major from Orange, Calif.; Dani Curran, an international business major from Chino, Calif.; Janessa Schmidbauer, a health sciences major from San Diego, Calif.; Natalie Jennings, a psychology major from Concord, Calif.; Katie Buzzetta, a communications studies major from Hollister, Calif.; and Meagan Minson, a liberal studies major from Riverside, Calif., were named to the MPSF All-Academic team for the first time.

            To be eligible for the MPSF All-Academic team, a student-athlete must have a 3.00 or better cumulative grade-point average, must have sophomore standing academically, must have completed at least one full year at the member school and must have competed in at least 50 percent of the team's contests during the season.

            The MPSF honored 56 water polo players from its eight member schools. San Jose State and Stanford with 10 each had the most honorees.

            Prior to 2010, six Spartans from the 2007 team was the largest number of San Jose State women's water polo players honored with MPSF All-Academic recognition in a season.