Nine Named MPSF Women's Water Polo All-Academic

Woodland, Calif.-----San Jose State University student-athletes accounted for nine of the 44 named to the 2013 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) Women’s Water Polo All-Academic selections.

            Seniors Anna Natalizio and Kimber Methvin led the way for the Spartans with their third honor in as many years. Junior Rachel Henry earned her second MPSF All-Academic honor.

            Student-athletes earn MPSF All-Academic honors by maintaining a 3.00 or better cumulative grade-point average; having sophomore, junior, senior or graduate status academically; being enrolled at the member institution at least one full academic year; and participate in at least 50 percent of the team’s contests during the season.

            Junior Alisa Argend and sophomores Timi Molnar, Orla Brazell, Dani Styles, Victoria Smith and Kelli Leabo are first-time MPSF All-Academic award winners.

            By team, San Jose State’s nine honorees was second only to Stanford’s 10. Cal was next with seven.

            Molnar, a behavioral sciences and anthropology double major, had the second highest cumulative grade-point average of the 44 honorees with a 3.67 cumulative grade-point average at the time nominations were submitted. She also was a 2013 second-team All-MPSF selection as voted by the seven conference coaches.

San Jose State Women's Water Polo MPSF All-Academic Selections

Name Class GPA Hometown/Last School
Alisa Argend JR 3.19 Ventura, Calif./Ventura HS
Orla Brazell SO 3.45 Long Beach, Calif./San Diego State U.
Rachel Henry JR 3.28 Santa Cruz, Calif./Soquel HS
Kelli Leabo SO 3.01 Stockton, Calif./Lincoln HS
Kimber Methvin SR 3.39 Porterville, Calif./Porterville HS
Timi Molnar SO 3.67 Budapest, Hungary/Vorosmarty Mihaly
Anna Natalizio SR 3.52 Irvine, Calif./Irvine HS
Victoria Smith SO 3.44 Vancouver, B.C./Garibaldi School
Dani Styles SO 3.56 Laguna Niguel, Calif./Dana Point HS