Goalkeeper Meagan Minson Named Water Polo Team MVP

            Goalkeeper Meagan Minson, the school record holder for single-season and career saves, was named the Most Valuable Player at the San Jose State University Women's Water Polo Awards ceremony.

            The senior from Riverside, Calif. (Arlington HS), turned in another stellar season earning honorable mention All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) honors helping the Spartans to a 19-13 win-loss record and a ninth-place ranking in the final national coaches' poll. Minson was credited with 212 saves and ranked fifth in the conference in saves per match.

            Junior Anna Natalizio, from Irvine, Calif. (Irvine HS), was named the team's Outstanding Offensive Player. She shared the team lead with 60 goals, a personal single-season best and was an honorable mention All-MPSF player in 2012.

            Natalizio tied for ninth in conference scoring per match with teammate Dani Curran of Chino, Calif., (Ayala HS) who was the recipient of this year's Spartan Award for career achievements. Curran, the Spartans' third honorable mention All-MPSF player this season, entered 2012 as a three-time honorable mention All-American. Her 237 goals is tied for eighth on the MPSF career scoring list.

            Kelly Stewart, a senior from Surrey, B.C., was a two-time honoree at the team ceremony. Stewart was named the Outstanding Defensive Player and winner of the Scholar-Athlete Award for the second year in a row.  Stewart is the only current San Jose State student-athlete who is a three-time university President's Scholar.

            Maddie Reardon, a sophomore goalkeeper from San Clemente, Calif. (San Clemente HS), was named Most Improved. Freshman Victoria Smith from Vancouver, B.C., was named the Newcomer of the Year.

            Senior Allie Stewart, from Sacramento, Calif., and junior Kimber Methvin, from Porterville, Calif. (Porterville HS), were recognized for serving as the team captains for the 2012 season.

            Senior Natalie Jennings from Concord, Calif. (Clayton Valley HS), received the Adriane Riddle Most Inspirational Award.