Molnar, Natalizio & Lekness Receive MPSF Honors

            San Jose State University sophomore Timi Molnar, senior Anna Natalizio and freshman Rae Lekness, the top three scorers for the 2013 women’s water polo team, were honored with All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) post-season honors in a vote of the seven conference coaches.

Molnar was named a second-team All-MPSF selection; Natalizio, an honorable mention choice for the second year in a row; Lekness, a second honorable mention honoree and named to the All-Newcomer team.

“I’m very happy for all three of them. They all are very deserving. I told the team, you don’t get these awards by yourself I told the team in an email. Everyone has to perform,” said San Jose State coach Lou Tully.

Lekness, a freshman from Calgary, led San Jose State (12-12) in scoring with 54 goals. She had a pair of six-goal matches in wins over #11-Michigan on January 20 in the Michigan Kick-Off and unranked CSU Bakersfield on April 20. She is tied for fourth in the MPSF in scoring averaging 2.25 goals per match.

“This year, there was an extremely strong list of newcomers in the (MPSF) conference

Natalizio completed her career tied for 10th on the San Jose State career list with 124 goals. One of three seniors on the 2013 team, she, too, had a six-goal scoring spree in the January 20 win over Colorado State in the Michigan Kick-Off. Fourteen times, Natalizio scored two or more goals in a match this season for San Jose State. As of May 1, she is tied for 11th in scoring with a 1.79 goals per match average.

Molnar surpassed the 50-goal mark for the second time in her three seasons at San Jose State. She was second on the team and sixth in the conference with her 52 goals and 2.17 goals per match scoring average. Molnar was an honorable mention and the MPSF Newcomer of the Year as a freshman in 2011.

The 2013 honorees are the third San Jose State trio in three years honored with MPSF post-season recognition. In 2012, Natalizio, Dani Curran and goalkeeper Meagan Minson received All-MPSF honors. In 2011, Adriana Vogt, Molnar & Minson were All-MPSF selections.