Espar Llaquet & Molnar Earn MPSF Women's Water Polo Honors

Clara Espar Llaquet is the first San José State player with multiple seasons of 90 or more goals.
April 28, 2015

All-MPSF selections Get Acrobat Reader

Woodland, Calif.----- San Jose State University women's water polo players Clara Espar Llaquet and Timi Molnar were named to Mountain Pacific Sports Federation's (MPSF) all-conference team in a vote by the league's seven coaches.

A sophomore from Barcelona, Spain, Espar Llaquet became the first Spartan since 2011 and only the fourth in school history to be named a first-team MPSF player. Espar Llaquet led San José State and was second in the MPSF in goal scoring with an unprecedented second 90-plus season total with 94, two shy of her single-season school record of 96 in 2014.

Besides being named a MPSF first-team all-conference player, Espar Llaquet was named to the MPSF all-tournament team for leading all players in scoring during the three-day championship that concluded on April 26 in Tempe, Ariz. She scored in each of San José State's three matches and set a MPSF Tournament single-match record with nine goals in a 15-7 win over CSU Bakersfield.

Molnar, a graduate student from Budapest, became the first San Jose State player to be named on an All-MPSF women's water polo team for four seasons. The Spartans' two-time team captain was an honorable mention selection for the second time. Third on the San Jose State all-time scoring list with 212 goals, she was an honorable mention choice, named to the All-Newcomer Team and the conference's Freshman of the Year in 2011 and a second-team honoree in 2013 and 2014.

The Spartans concluded their season with a 21-10 win-loss record and their best finish in a MPSF Tournament since 2009 placing fifth. The 21 wins are the second most in a season in program history - one fewer than the 2000 team that was 22-18. The 2015 win-loss record also marked the first time San Jose State posted back-to-back 20-win seasons after going 20-13 in 2014.