Nation's Best Here For MPSF Championship

            Six of the top seven and all eight ranked among nation's 11 best teams will be at the San Jose State University Aquatics Center for the 2011 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation women's water polo championship.

            The three-day, four-match, eight-team championship begins Friday, April 29, and concludes, Sunday May 1. Matches begin at 10:00 a.m. each day with the championship contest on May 1 at 3:00 p.m.

            #7-ranked San Jose State (20-11) hosts #1-Stanford (23-0), #2-California (21-4), #3-UCLA (22-5), #4-USC (16-5), #5-Hawai'i (17-7), #9-San Diego State (20-12) and #11-Arizona State (11-12) in the toughest, based on national rankings, most competitive conference championship in college athletics.

            UCLA is the defending conference champion. USC is the defending NCAA champion. Stanford is the only team nationally to complete the regular season undefeated.

            Players from eight different countries (United States, Canada, Australia, Germany, Hungary, The Netherlands, New Zealand, and South Africa) are on various team rosters.  Joelle Bekhazi (USC, Team Canada), Emily Csikos (California, Team Canada), Annika Dries (Stanford, Team USA), Kristen Dronberger (USC, Team USA) Sarah Harris (Arizona State, Team South Africa) Patricia Jancso (USC, Team Hungary) Melissa Seidemann (Stanford, Team USA) and Lynlee Smith (Arizona State, Team New Zealand) have national and international playing experience.

            A limited number of tickets remain available. Ticket prices range from $5.00 for a single-day student or child admission to a $35.00 all-session adult pass for the entire 12-game championship tournament. Go here for more ticket information.