San Jose State Goes For 20th Win in 2014 At CSU Bakersfield

Freshman goalkeeper Katelynn Thompson is focused on helping the Spartans to the 20-win mark.

April 16, 2014

The nationally-ranked San Jose State University women's water polo team concludes its regular season with a Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) match against CSU Bakersfield, Friday, April 18.

Game time at the Hillman Aquatics Complex on the Bakersfield campus is 3:00 p.m.

The #7-ranked Spartans (19-11, 1-4 MPSF) and the unranked Roadrunners (12-19, 0-5 MPSF) is the third between these teams this season. San Jose State has wins over CSU Bakersfield, 20-9, at the UCLA Invitational, and 10-7 at the UC Davis Tournament.

The Spartans have much to gain by winning their 10th consecutive match over the Roadrunners since 2010. San Jose State would record its fourth 20-win season in school history. The Spartans won 20 or more matches in 2000 (22-18), 2009 (20-14) and 2011 (21-13).

A San Jose State win also would propel the program into the 2014 MPSF Championship Tournament as the #5-seed behind Stanford, USC, UCLA and California. Arizona State would move into the #5-seed if CSU Bakersfield defeats the Spartans. The #5-seed will play its opening round MPSF Tournament match against #4-seed Cal.

San Jose State is nearing its single-season scoring record of 377 goals. The Spartans have 364 goals on the season. Ten times this season, San Jose State scored 14 or more goals. San Jose State's +119 goal differential already is the best single-season number in the program's 18-season history.

Freshman Clara Espar Llaquet, with a single-season school record 91, and sophomore Rae Leknesswith 74 continue to lead San Jose State in scoring. Lekness has 10 goals in the first two meetings with the Roadrunners while Espar Llaquet has six.

Collegiate Water Polo Association weekly national coaches' poll

April 16, 2014

Rank, Team Points
  1. Stanford             99

  2. USC           


  3. UCLA           


  4. California           

     Arizona State             82

  6. UC Irvine           


  7. San José State           


  8. Hawaii           


  9. Cal State Northridge


10. Long Beach State           


11. Princeton           


12. Loyola Marymount   


13. Indiana           


14. UC San Diego           


15. UC Santa Barbara           


16. Hartwick           


17. UC Davis           


18. Santa Clara           


19. San Diego State           

      Michigan               8