School Record-Tying 9 Wins In A Row

Tempe, Ariz.-----Timi Molnar scored three times including the go-ahead goal at 5:40 in the fourth quarter leading #9-ranked San Jose State to 10-8 win over #8-ranked Arizona State in a Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) women's water polo match.

            The Spartans' win was their ninth in a row tying a 2009 school record for most consecutive victories and it was the first San Jose State (16-8, 2-2 MPSF) victory over Arizona State (8-10, 0-5 MPSF) in three tries this season.


            "We came in with a lot of confidence. We asked our players to do two things - play great team defense and have patience and control the ball on offense," said San Jose State head coach Lou Tully. "We played real great defense."

            Goalkeeper Meagan Minson led the Spartans defensively with nine saves and seven steals. One of her saves came on a third-period Arizona State penalty shot.

            Molnar was one of two Spartans with three goals. Dani Curran matched Molnar's three scores. Katie Buzzetta, with two, and Kelly Stewart and Adriana Vogt, with one each found the cage for San Jose State.

            The Spartans also had one of their better days in 6-on-5 advantages scoring 5-of-9 times. Molnar had two of the five power-play goals. The Sun Devils failed to score on any of their six power-play chances.

            Arizona State's Annabelle Carter was the leading scorer in the match with four goals. Sarah Harris, with three, and Lynlee Smith, one, also scored for the Sun Devils.

Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Women's Water Polo
Mona Plummer Aquatic Center, Tempe, Ariz.
March 26, 2011

#9-San Jose State (16-8, 2-2 MPSF)            2-2-2-4=10

#8-Arizona State (8-10, 0-5 MPSF)            2-2-2-2=8

Goal Scoring

San Jose State - Timi Molnar, Dani Curran, 3, each; Katie Buzzetta, 2; Kelly Stewart, Adriana Vogt, 1 each.

Arizona State - Annabelle Carter, 4; Sarah Harris, 3, Lynlee Smith 1,

Goalkeeper Saves

San Jose State - Meagan Minson, 8.

Arizona State - Amanda Young, 5.


San Jose State - 6.

Arizona State - 9.