Women's Water Polo Returns To Action Hosting Santa Clara

McKenna Yates is one of six Spartans with 10 or more goals for the season.
Feb. 18, 2016

The San Jose State University women's water polo team seeks to end a three-match losing streak when it hosts Santa Clara University, Friday, February 19. The non-conference match at The Aquatics Center begins at 3:00 p.m.

Presently, the Spartans (6-6) are tied for tenth in the Collegiate Water Polo Association's weekly national coaches' poll. San Jose State's most recent win was an 11-6 triumph over Loyola Marymount, ranked 15th at the time of the match, during the Stanford Invitational.

Since then, the Spartans lost to #1-Stanford for the second time this season; Michigan, 8-7, presently tied for sixth nationally; and UC Davis, ranked fifth in this week's poll.

San Jose State has five players with 10 or more goals scored. Senior Rae Lekness leads the Spartans and the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation with 33 goals. Freshman Carla Toha Vilanova (16), McKenna Yates and co-captain Kelli Leabo with 11 and Cara Robinson (10) also have reached double-figures in season scoring after the first month of the season.

Sophomore Tayler Peters and freshman Alicia Magliocco shared the majority of the team's goalkeeping duties. Magliocco started the four matches during the Stanford Invitational.

San Jose State hosts a Santa Clara team (2-4) that also seeks to end a losing streak. The Broncos have a four-match losing streak after defeating Cal State Monterey Bay and Cal State East Bay.



In the last five years, the Spartans won the four matches between the two teams.

Collegiate Water Polo Association's national coaches' poll

February 17, 2016

Rank, Team Points
1. USC 100
2. UCLA 96
3. California 92
4. Stanford 89
5. UC Davis 80
6. Michigan 78
    Hawaii 78
8. Arizona State 74
9. UC Irvine 66
10. San Jose State 61
      Hartwick 61
12. Pacific 52
13. UC San Diego 48
14. Princeton 46
     Loyola Marymount 46
16. Harvard 42
17. UC Santa Barbara 37
18. Indiana 36
19. San Diego State 29
20. Wagner 26
21. Long Beach State  21
22. Cal Baptist 12
      Marist 12
24. CSU Bakersfield 10
25. CSU Northridge 6