#9-Spartans Face Four Top-10 Teams

            San Jose State University takes a four-game winning streak into its toughest week of the 2011 season facing four top-10 opponents in a four-day span starting with the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF) opener against the University of Hawaii, Thursday, February 3. The match pitting the Spartans (6-2, 0-0 MPSF) and the Rainbow Wahine (0-0, 0-0 MPSF) begins at 4:00 p.m. (PST) at the Aquatics Center on the San Jose State campus.

            San Jose State remained ninth nationally in the coaches' poll after winning each of its four matches in the Spartan Invitational, January 29 & 30. The Spartans turned away Santa Clara, UC Davis, Cal State Monterey Bay and Pacific in round robin play.

            Following the conference opener, San Jose State takes on #3-California and #8 Arizona State in first-day action of the Stanford Invitational on February 5. The Spartans conclude Invitational competition Sunday, February 6 against #1-Stanford at 8:00 a.m. and either #2-Southern California, #4-UCLA, #5-Hawaii or #15-Indiana later in the day.

            Co-captain Allie Stewart enters the week as the team's leading scorer with 21 goals. Stewart scored nine times in the Spartan Invitational. Freshman Timi Molnar was the top San Jose State scorer in the Spartan Invitational with 10 goals to boost her season total to 17. Dani Curran, with 15, and Adriana Vogt, with 14, also are in double-figure scoring early in the season.

San Jose State women's water polo upcoming schedule

Feb. 3            Hawaii            The Aquatics Center, 4:00 p.m.

Feb. 5            Stanford Invitational vs. Cal, 9:40 a.m., Belardi Pool

Feb. 5             Stanford Invitational vs. Arizona State, 2:45 p.m., Belardi Pool

Feb. 6            Stanford Invitational vs. Stanford, 8:00 a.m., Avery Stadium

Feb. 6            Stanford Invitational vs. TBA, afternoon, Avery Stadium

February 2 Collegiate Water Polo Association rankings

1.     Stanford
2.     Southern California
3.     California
4.     UCLA
5.     Hawaii
6.     Loyola Marymount
7.     Michigan
8.     Arizona State
9.     San Jose State
10. San Diego State
11. UC Irvine
12. UC Santa Barbara
13. Cal State Northridge
14. Hartwick
15. Indiana
16. UC Davis
17. UC San Diego
18. Princeton
19. Pacific
20. Cal State Bakersfield