#15-San Jose State Opens Season Hosting 4th Annual Lou Tully Memorial Invitational

Jan. 17, 2018

The San Jose State University women's water polo team opens its 2018 season Saturday, January 20, as the host of the fourth annual Lou Tully Memorial Invitational at West Valley College beginning at 8:00 a.m.

The Spartans are hosting Cal State East Bay, UC Davis, Pacific, Stanford and the national team from China. Stanford is the defending NCAA champion and is ranked #1 in the first Collegiate Water Polo Association weekly coaches poll. Pacific is ninth; UC Davis, 11th; and San Jose State is 15th.

The Last Meeting
Cal State East Bay9
San Jose State13
January 16, 2016
Aquatics Center
The Spartans are in the first match the Lou Tully Memorial with Cal State-East Bay at 8:00 a.m. and takes on UC Davis at 1:50 p.m.

Gabor Sarusi is in his second season as the Spartans' head coach. San Jose State has 10 new players on this year's team. Senior Klaudia Paradi was a 2017 Mountain Pacific Sports Federation honorable mention all-conference player.

The Lou Tully Memorial Invitational is named after San Jose State's first women's water polo head coach. Lou Tully (1943-2013) coached the Spartans for 16 seasons (1997 -- 2013) to 250 victories and 12 national finishes in the top-10.



There is no charge for admission at the West Valley College Aquatic Center. Campus parking is $3.00 per vehicle.

4th annual Lou Tully Memorial women's water polo schedule
West Valley College Aquatic Center, Saratoga, Calif.
January 20, 2018
San Jose State vs. Cal State East Bay 8:00 a.m.
Stanford vs. UC Davis 9:20 a.m.
China vs. Pacific (exhibition) 10:40 a.m.
Stanford vs. China (exhibition) 12:30 p.m.
San Jose State vs. UC Davis 1:50 p.m.
Cal State East Bay vs. Pacific (exhibition) 3:10 p.m.
UC Davis vs. China (exhibition) 4:30 p.m.


Collegiate Water Polo Association weekly coaches poll

January 17, 2018

Rank, Team Points
1. Stanford
2. USC
4. California
5. Arizona State
6. Hawaii
7. UC Irvine
8. Michigan
9. Pacific 73
10. Long Beach State 63
11. UC Davis 58
12. San Diego State 50
13. Indiana 46
14. Hartwick 44
15. San Jose State 39
16. UC San Diego 38
17. Princeton 36
      Harvard 36
19. UC Santa Barbara 32
20. Wagner 31
21. CSUN 21
22. LMU 18
23. Marist 12
24. Iona 4
25. Fresno State 3
      Cal Baptist 3
      CSU Monterey Bay 3