Five Volleyball Players Honored by WAC Coaches

DenverFive San Jose State volleyball players have been named to various All-Western Athletic Conference teams, as selected by the conference’s head coaches.


Colleen Burke was selected to the first team All-WAC.  She leads the team in hitting percentage at .348 and is second on the team in blocks with 67, 0.68 pg.  Burke has 255 kills, 2.60 pg, and leads the team in aces with 29.


Three Spartans were named to the second team All-WAC Keri Anglin, Niki Clement and Jennifer Senftleben.  Anglin leads the team in blocks with 108, 1.19 pg, and has the most solo blocks, 23, for a Spartan since the 1996 season.  Clement led the Spartans during the WAC season in kills with 194, 3.66 pg.  Overall, she averages 3.33 kills and 3.45 digs per game.  Senftleben leads the team in kills this season with 322, 3.74 pg, and averages 2.01 digs per game.


Emily Burke was named to the WAC All-Freshman team.  She was the Spartans’ starting setter this season and averaged 11.42 assists and 2.82 digs per game.  Burke has a team-best 15 double-doubles and recorded 71 assists in a five-game win over Idaho earlier this season.


San Jose State opens play at the 2007 WAC Volleyball Tournament this Thursday as the sixth seed.  The Spartans play third seed Utah State at 5:00 p.m. MST, at the Pan American Center in Las Cruces, N.M.  Live video streaming of all tournament matches can be found at




First Team Team Pos. Yr.Hometown (Previous School)

Colleen Burke**               San Jose State MB Jr.Huntington Beach,Calif.(Edison)

Aneli Cubi-Ontineru            Hawai i LS/RS So.Hale,O’ahu (College of Southern Idaho)

Teal Ericson$$**                Nevada OH Sr.Homewood,Calif.(North Tahoe)

Jamie Houston$$*              Hawai i LS/RS Jr.Huntsville,Ala.(Huntsville)

Amanda Nielson**              Utah State OPP Sr.West Valley City,Utah (Granger)

Haley Larsen$$**               Idaho OH Jr.Santa Clarita,Calif.(Canyon)

Kim Oguh$*                       New Mexico State MH Sr.El Paso,Texas (Hanks)

Juliana Sanders$*               Hawai i M Sr.Kaneohe,Hawaii (Castle)

Amber Simpson$$*             New Mexico State MH Jr.Quincy,Ill.(Quincy)

Karly Sipherd ^^$$**           Nevada MB Sr.Applegate,Calif.(Capitol City)

Krystal Torres**                  New Mexico State L Sr.Las Cruces,N.M.(Mayfield)

Lindsey Yon                       New Mexico State OH Jr.San Antonio,Texas (Texas A&M)


Second Team Team Pos. Yr.Hometown (Previous School)

Krista Altermatt                    New Mexico State OH Sr.Aurora,Colo.(Grandview)

Keri Anglin                         San Jose State MB Sr.Winters,Calif.(Sacramento City College)

Stephanie Brandt                  Hawai i S So.Irvine,Calif.(UC Santa Barbara)

Niki Clement**                    San Jose State OH Jr.Long Beach,Calif.(Long Beach Poly)

Tara Hittle$$                         Hawai i LS/RS Jr.Colorado Springs,Colo.(Doherty)

Sarah Loney                         Idaho MB Jr.West Linn,Ore.(West Linn)

Ashley Miller                        Nevada S Sr.Auburn Hills,Mich.(Golden West JC)

Melissa Osterloh                  Utah State OH Jr.Sandy,Utah (Portland State)

Alisha McKee                      Fresno State MB Sr.Goodland,Kan.(Goodland)

Shannon Philips**                Louisiana Tech MB Sr.Rowlett,Texas (Rowlett)

Jennifer Senftleben$         San Jose State MB So.Canyon Lake,Calif.(Temescal Canyon)

Danielle Taylor                     Utah State MB So.Springville,Utah (Springville)


All-Freshman Team Pos. Hometown (Previous School)

Lindsay Baldwin                 Nevada MB Burlingame,Calif.(Notre Dame Belmont)

Emily Burke                      San Jose State S San Jose,Calif.(Archbishop Mitty)

Chelsea Fowles                  Utah State S Hollister,Calif.(San Benito)

Elizabeth Ka ’aihue             Hawai i L Kailua,O;ahu (Punahou)

Bryn Rodgers                     New Mexico State S Iowa City,Iowa (Iowa City)

Tairyn Rasmussen              Fresno State OH Escondino,Calif.(San Pasqual)


WAC Player of the Year: Jamie Houston, Hawai i

WAC Coach of the Year: Grayson DuBose,Utah State

WAC Freshman of the Year: Chelsea Fowles,Utah State


+2003 First-team Selection

++2003 First-team Selection

^2004 First-team Selection

^^2004 Second-team Selection

$2005 First-team Selection

$$2005 Second-team Selection

*2006 First-team Selection

**2006 Second-team Selection


#                              #                              #