Volleyball Travels To Windy City for Chicago State Tournament

Jamie Hirai leads the team with 10 service aces this season. (Photo by Terrell Lloyd)
Sept. 17, 2014


 

 

This weekend marks the final non-conference matches for the San José State volleyball team this season. The Spartans travel to the Windy City to play in the Chicago State Tournament.

The team will play four matches over the weekend.  Friday, the Spartans face South Dakota State at 12 p.m. CDT/10 a.m. PDT, and Chicago State at 5 p.m. CDT/3 p.m. PDT.  On Saturday, the team plays Grand Canyon at 10 a.m. CDT/8 a.m. PDT, and UMass Lowell at 5 p.m. CDT/3 p.m. PDT. 

No live stats or video will be available for the tournament.

South Dakota State enters the match with a 4-8 overall record after falling at Kansas State Tuesday night 3-0.  The Jackrabbits have wins over Weber State, Maryland-Eastern Shore, Farleigh Dickinson and Florida International this season.  Tiara Gibson leads the team with 87 kills, 2.17 ps, and blocks with 36, 0.90 ps.

Host Chicago State begins the weekend with a 5-6 record and brings a four-match winning streak to the tournament.  Elli Woinowsky leads the team with 105 kills, 2.76 ps, while Essence Jackson-Jones has a team-best 43 blocks, 1.13 ps.

Grand Canyon has a 7-2 record coming into the weekend after going 2-1 at the Lumberjack Classic last week.  The team hosts Southern Utah Wednesday night before traveling to Chicago.  Natalie Tardy leads the team with 138 kills, 3.94 ps, while Shannon Dugan has 136 kills, 3.89 ps.

UMass Lowell enters the weekend with a 1-10 record after falling to Fairfield (0-3), Liberty (1-3) and Brown (0-3) at the Brown Invitational last week.  Masha Yelsulova leads the team with 90 kills, 2.65 ps, while Hannah Rey has a team-best 167 digs, 4.64 ps.

San José State enters the weekend with an 0-9 overall record.  Yavianliz Rosado leads the team in digs with 114, 3.56 ps, and was named to the Cal Poly SharesSLO Tournament All-Tournament team last weekend.  Tyanna Roy leads the Spartnas with 100 kills, 3.12 ps, while Sara Hibbs has a team-best 40 blocks, 1.25 ps.

Looking ahead to next week, the Spartans return home to open the Mountain West portion of the schedule. The team hosts New Mexico on Thursday, September 25, at 6 p.m., followed by Air Force on Saturday, September 27, at 1 p.m.  Both matches will be played at Spartan Gym.