Volleyball Heads Across The Country For UMass Lowell Tournament

Sept. 10, 2015

Updated Player Information Get Acrobat Reader

The San José State volleyball team travels cross-country this weekend to Massachusetts to play at the UMass Lowell Tournament on September 11 and 12 at the Costello Athletic Center.

 

The Spartans face UMass Lowell (0-8) on Friday at 7 p.m. EDT/4 p.m. PDT. On Saturday, the team plays Quinnipiac at 11 a.m. EDT/8 a.m. PDT and Holy Cross at 4:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. PDT. San José State won the only meeting against UMass Lowell with a 3-0 win last season at the Chicago State Tournament. This will be the first meeting in school history against Quinnipiac and Holy Cross.

 

Live stats are available for all three matches, with a link provided on www.sjsuspartans.com. Live video may be available for the UMass Lowell match, and if it is, a link will also be provided on the web site.

 

San José State begins the tournament with a 3-4 overall record after finishing 2-1 last weekend at the UTRGV Tournament. The Spartans swept Southern, 3-0, defeated Incarnate Word, 3-1, and fell to the host Vaqueros, 2-3. Summer Avery and Jamie Hirai were named to the all-tournament team. Avery led the team in kills against Incarnate Word and UTRGV, while Hirai recorded a career-best 20 digs against UTRGV.

 

This is the second of four weekends road play for the month of September. The team played last weekend in Texas at the UTRGV Tournament. Next weekend, the Spartans play at the Chippewa Challenge, hosted by Central Michigan, on September 18 and 19. The final week of September is the opening of Mountain West Conference play, and San José State is at Fresno State on September 24 and at UNLV on the 26th.