O'Reilly Hits .400 In Loss To Anteaters

Boise, Idaho-Mary Alice O'Reilly hit .400 and led the Spartans with 12 kills, but the San Jose State volleyball team fell to UC Irvine, 25-16, 25-22, 23-25, 27-25, in the first match at the Boise State Invitational.

O'Reilly collected her 12 kills on 25 attempts and just two hitting errors.  Krista Miller was second on the team with 10 kills.  O'Reilly and Alex Akana each had four block assists to lead the team.

Hanah Blume tied her career-high with a team-best 20 digs.  Michaela Leonard had her third double-double of the season with 42 assists and 15 digs.  Two other had double-digit kills - Katie Turner at 13 and Kiely Pieper with 11. 

The Spartans won the third set 25-23 on a kill by Miller.  The team then battled with the Anteaters in the fourth set and tied the set at 22-22 on a Blume.  A kill by Miller tied the match at 23-23.  The two teams then traded the serve, and San Jose State took a 25-24 lead on an O'Reilly kill.  UC Irvine then scored the final three points to win 27-25.

San Jose State plays host Boise State later Friday at 7:30 p.m. MDT/6:30 p.m. PDT.  The team then faces Southern Utah Saturday at 11 a.m. MDT/10 a.m. PDT.

Boise State Invitational

Boise, Idaho

UC Irvine def. San Jose State - 25-16, 25-22, 23-25, 27-25.

Kills - San Jose State - Mary Alice O'Reilly 12; Krista Miller 10.

UC Irvine - Aly Squires 21; Marisa Bubic 13; Arielle Manz 12.

Records - San Jose State 3-4; UC Irvine 3-5.

#                        #                        #