Volleyball Heads To UTRGV Tournament

Sept. 3, 2015

Updated Player Information Get Acrobat Reader

After starting the 2015 season at home, the San José State volleyball team takes to the road for the month of September.  The Spartans play three matches this weekend at the University of Texas Rio Grande Valley Tournament in Edinburg, Texas.

The Spartans face Southern (0-3) on Friday, September 4, at 1:30 p.m. CDT/11:30 a.m. PDT.  The team then plays two matches on Saturday, September 5 - vs. Incarnate Word (0-3) at 11 a.m. CDT/9 a.m. PDT; and host UTRGV (2-2) at 6:30 p.m. CDT/4:30 p.m. PDT.


All three matches will have live stats, and fans can watch the Spartans take on the host Vaqueros on YouTube.  Links to the live stats and live video can be found on the volleyball schedule page of www.sjsuspartans.com.

The Spartans enter the weekend with a 1-3 record after hosting the San José State Invitational last weekend.  The team swept Weber State on Saturday, but fell to Cal Poly (1-3); UC Riverside (2-3) and Sacramento State (1-3).  Sara Hibbs and Tyanna Roy were named to the all-tournament team.

San José State is beginning the first of four weekends of road play for the month of September.  After the UTRGV Tournament, the Spartans fly to Massachusetts next weekend for the UMass Lowell Tournament on September 11 and 12.  The team then plays at the Chippewa Challenge, hosted by Central Michigan, on September 18 and 19.  The final week of September is the opening of Mountain West Conference play, and San José State is at Fresno State on September 24 and at UNLV on the 26th.