Volleyball Falls In Season Opener

Grand Forks, N.D.-Sarah McAtee led the Spartan volleyball team with four kills, four digs and two blocks as San Jose State opened the 2010 season at the North Dakota Classic.  The Fighting Sioux won the match, 25-9, 25-12, 25-14, Friday afternoon.

Sarah Griest and Krista Miller each had three kills, while Alex Akana and Brianna Amian contributed two.  Courtney Zellmer added four digs and three assists in the match.

Griest and fellow freshman Hanah Blume made their debut in a Spartan uniform on Friday.  Blume had a kill and a dig in her first action.

San Jose State continues play at the North Dakota Classic on Saturday.  The team plays Gonzaga at 9:30 a.m. CDT/7:30 a.m. PDT, followed by Drake at 2:30 p.m. CDT/12:30 p.m. PDT.  Both matches should have live stats with links on the Spartan website, www.SJSUSpartans.com.

Non-Conference Match
North Dakota Classic

North Dakota def. San Jose State - 25-9, 25-12, 25-14.


Kills - San Jose State - Sarah McAtee 4
North Dakota - Devin Trefz 16.

Records - San Jose State 0-1; North Dakota 1-0.

#        #        #