Volleyball Begins 2010 Season At North Dakota Classic

The 2010 San Jose State volleyball team opens the season with three matches at the North Dakota Classic this Friday and Saturday, August 27 and 28. The Spartans face host North Dakota Friday at 1 p.m. CDT/11 a.m. PDT. On Saturday, the team plays Gonzaga at 9:30 a.m. CDT/7:30 a.m. PDT and Drake at 2:30 p.m. CDT/12:30 p.m. PDT.

All matches this weekend will have live stats. Links can be found on www.sjsuspartans.com, under "Live" and on the North Dakota site at www.FightingSioux.com. All three matches will also have a video stream on the North Dakota website with an audio feed of Friday's match.

Head coach Oscar Crespo returns for his fourth season at the helm of the San Jose State program. He has a 28-60 record in three seasons at his alma mater.

The team returns nine letterwinners and one redshirt this season. Alex Akana and Caitlin Andrade return for their sophomore campaigns after receiving WAC All-Freshman honors last year. Andrade recorded the 12th triple-double in school history last year with 32 assists, 12 digs and 10 kills in a three-set match against Saint Mary’s. Taylor Japhet returns for her second season after leading the team in kills with 249 last year. Brianna Amian returns to the floor after redshirting last season. She was a second team All-WAC honoree in 2008.

Kylie Miraldi returns as one of the leaders on and off the court for San Jose State. She led the team last year in blocks with 49 and was second in kills at 220. Off the court, Miraldi is the Vice President of the San Jose State SAAC and one of two Spartan representatives on the WAC SAAC.

Others returning include Katie Turner, Courtney Zellmer, Asia Casino, Sarah McAtee and Krista Miller.

The Spartans add outside hitters Hannah Blume and Sarah Greist to the roster this season. Both have participated in the USA High Performance Championships. Also new to the team are Leilani Marple who transferred after playing three years at Concorida of Irvine, and Lindsay Noone from Leigh High School in San Jose.

Off the court, San Jose State also makes an impact in the classroom. Last season, 10 Spartans received Academic All-WAC honors, the most in one season for the team in school history.

The Spartans begin the home portion of the schedule next week with the SJSU/SMC Tournament. San Jose State opens the tournament with a match against #25 Saint Mary’s on Wednesday, Sept. 1. The next day, the Spartans face #16 UCLA. Both matches begin at 7 p.m. inside Spartan Gym. Two tournament matches will be played on Friday, with #16 UCLA vs. #25 Saint Mary’s at 5 p.m., followed by San Jose State vs. UC Riverside at 7 p.m. On Saturday, Sept. 4, UCLA and UC Riverside play at 10 a.m.