Volleyball Wins Fourth Consecutive Match 3-1 Over Omaha

Sept. 18, 2015

Final Statistics

Final Statistics Get Acrobat Reader

Mount Pleasant, Mich.--Five San José State volleyball players recorded double-digit kills, and the Spartans extended their winning streak to the longest in eight years in a 3-1 win over Omaha Friday afternoon at the Chippewa Challenge. 

Tyanna Roy and Hana Tresnáková each had 12 kills to lead the Spartans (7-4).  Sara Hibbs, Giulia Gávio and Nandyala Gama each recorded 10 kills.

For the second consecutive week, San José State recorded the best hitting percentage in a match this season.  The team hit .298 in the win with 55 kills on 124 attempts and just 18 hitting errors.  Gama led the team with a .438 hitting percentage (10-3-16), while Tyanna Roy hit .385 (12-2-26), and Hibbs hit .268 (10-3-19).

San José State extended its winning streak to four matches, the longest for the program since the 2007 season when the team defeated Fresno State (3-0), Boise State (3-2), Idaho (3-2) and Fresno State (3-1) from October 22 to November 1.  The Spartans have not won five consecutive matches since the 2004 season.

Others contributing to the win included Allison Meehan with a season-best 49 assists and eight digs.  Luiza Andrade recorded a new career best with 21 digs.  Jamie Hirai and Yavianliz Rosado each had eight digs for the Spartans.  Taylor Elliott made her Spartan debut with a kill, a dig and a block.

The Spartans continue play at the tournament on Saturday with matches against host Central Michigan at 12:30 p.m. EDT/9:30 a.m. PDT, and Evansville at 5 p.m. EDT/2 p.m. PDT.

Chippewa Challenge

Mount Pleasant, Michigan

San José State def. Omaha - 3-1 (22-25, 25-20, 25-12, 25-15).

Kills - SJSU - Tyanna Roy 12, Hana Tresnáková 12, Sara Hibbs 10, Giulia Gávio 10, Nandyala Gama 10; O - Mackenzie Horkey 12.

Records - San José State 7-4; Omaha 4-7.

# # #