Volleyball Hits Season-Best In Sweep Of UMass Lowell

Sept. 11, 2015

Final Stats

Final Stats Get Acrobat Reader

Lowell, Mass.-- Nandyala Gama and Sara Hibbs led the Spartan hitting attack as the San José State volleyball team swept host UMass Lowell, 3-0 (25-18, 25-18, 25-10), Friday night at the UMass Lowell Invitational.

Gama hit a team-best .500 for the match with 10 kills on 14 attempts and just three errors, while Hibbs hit .444 with 10 kills on 18 attempts and just two hitting errors.   She also led the team with four block assists.

In all, four Spartan hitters to combined to hit .300 or better in the match.  As a team, San José State hit a season-best .284 in the match with 43 kills on 88 attempts and just 18 hitting errors.

Hana Tresnáková and Tyanna Roy each had eight kills in the match.  Roy hit .429 (8-2-14), while Tresnáková hit .312 (8-3-16).  Tresnáková also led the team in service aces with a season-best four and in digs with nine.

Setter Breann Robinson had 31 assists for the Spartans, along with eight digs, an ace and a block assist.  Yavianliz Rosado and Luiza Andrade each had six digs, while Jamie Hirai added five digs.

The Spartans dominated the match, only giving up the lead one time in three sets and only two tie scores.  UMass Lowell hit -.011 for the match and recorded only 19 kills. 

“It was good to see our players close the first set when we were pushed,” said Spartan head coach Jolene Shepardson. “I was proud of our focus from the endline. It put a tone of pressure on our opponent, and we were very effective in our transition game.”


San José State plays two matches on Saturday at the UMass Lowell Invitational - vs. Holy Cross at 11 a.m. EDT/8 a.m. PDT; and vs. Quinnipiac at 4:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. PDT.

UMass Lowell Invitational

San José State def. UMass Lowell 3-0 (25-18, 25-18, 25-10).

Kills - SJSU - Sara Hibbs 10, Nandyala Gama 10; UML - Haley Shimon 6.

Records - San José State 4-4; UMass Lowell 0-9.

# # #