Volleyball Splits Matches At UTRGV Tournament

Sept. 5, 2015

Final Stats - Incarnate Word

Final Statistics - Incarnate Word Get Acrobat Reader

Final Stats - UTRGV

Final Statistics - UTRGV Get Acrobat Reader

Edinburg, Texas--The San José State volleyball team split a pair of matches on Saturday, defeating Incarnate Word, 3-1, before falling to host UT Rio Grande Valley, 3-2, at the UTRGV Tournament in Edinburg, Texas. 

Playing for the tournament title Saturday evening, the Spartans and Vaqueros battled through five sets.  UTRGV won the first and third sets, 25-16 and 25-17, while San José State won sets two and four, 25-17, 27-25.  In the fourth set, the Spartans had set point twice at 24-22 and 24-23, but the Vaqueros tied the match at 24-24 and had match point at 25-24.  SJSU then scored the next three points to win the set 27-25.

In the final set, SJSU had an early 2-1 lead and led 5-4 before UTRGV took the lead for good at 6-5.  The Vaqueros biggest lead of the set came with match point and the win at 15-10.

Summer Avery and Tyanna Roy led the Spartans with 15 kills each.  Nandyala Gama was the third player in double-figure kills with 12. Sara Hibbs added eight kills and a team-best five block assists.

Five Spartan players recorded double-digit digs, led by Jamie Hirai with a career-best 20.  Yavianliz Rosado added 17 digs.  Breann Robinson had her second double-double of the season with 16 digs and 36 assists.  Allison Meehan had 16 digs to go with six assists, two kills and two aces.  Luiza Andrade rounded out the five players with 15 digs and an ace.

The Spartans started the day by winning 3-1 over Incarnate Word.  Avery led the team with 15 kills and hit .333 with 33 attempts and just four hitting errors.  Roy added 14 kills and four blocks.  Meehan hit a career-best .412 with eight kills on 17 attempts and just one hitting error.  She added 10 digs, a block assist and a service ace in the win. 

San José State had two players named to the all-tournament team -- Avery and Hirai.  Avery led the team with 41 kills over the three matches, 3.42 ps, while Hirai had 42 digs, 3.50 ps, and tied for the team-best in aces with four.

The Spartans are back in action next weekend at the UMass Lowell Tournament.  The team faces UMass Lowell on Friday, September 11, at 7 p.m. EDT/4 p.m. PDT, followed by two matches on Saturday, September 12, against Holy Cross at 11:30 a.m. EDT/8:30 a.m. PDT, and Quinnipiac at 4:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. PDT.

UTRGV Tournament

Edinburg, Texas

UT Rio Grande Valley def. San José State 3-2 (25-16, 17-25, 25-17, 25-27, 15-10).

Kills -- SJSU -- Tyanna Roy 15, Summer Avery 15, Nandyala Gama 12; UTRGV -- Bojana Mitrovic 23, Alisha Watson 12.

Records -- SJSU 3-4; UTRGV 4-3.

 

San José State def. Incarnate Word 3-1 (25-14, 22-25, 25-13, 25-23).

Kills -- IW -- Shaina Garza 14; SJSU -- Summer Avery 15; Tyanna Roy 14.

Records -- San José State 3-3; Incarnate Word 1-4.

#                      #                      #