Women's Track & Field Heads To Mountain West Indoor Championships

Nicole Iloanya has the conference's #5-best triple jump mark heading into the meet.
Feb. 25, 2015

Showing gradual improvement in each meet, the San Jose State University women's track and field team concludes its indoor season at the Mountain West Championships, Friday and Saturday, February 27 & 28, at the Albuquerque Convention Center in Albuquerque, N.M.

The Spartans have entries in 11 events, three jumps and eight on the track. Unlike a year ago when San Jose State had no entries listed among the top eight in their respective events and finished in 11th place, Coach Jeff Petersmeyer's squad has four top-eight in-season performances based on four regular-season meets going into the championships.

Three freshmen, sprinter Caitlin Wilson from Tallahassee, Fla., and jumpers Cambree Harbaugh from Meridian, Idaho, and Nicole Iloanya from Arlington, Texas, account for the team's top performances during the program's second season of indoor track.

Wilson has the conference's sixth fastest times in the 60 and 200-meter dashes at 7.61 and 24.65, respectively. She became the first Spartan in the program's history to win an indoor track event when she won the 55-meter dash at the Run for the Dream meet in Fresno, Calif., on February 16.

Iloanya has the best triple jump mark by a conference freshman and fifth best overall at 11.96 meters. Harbaugh is right next to Iloanya at 11.90 meters. The Spartans did not have any entries at the 2014 Mountain West Indoor Track and Field Championships.

San Jose State also has entries in the long jump, high jump, 60-meter high hurdles, 400, 800, mile, 5,000 and in the 4x400 relay. Sophomore sprinter Madiha Raza and senior Rebecca Garcia are the only two Spartans that competed in the 2014 Mountain West indoor championships.



The meet will be shown live on the Mountain West Digital Network: http://campusinsiders.com/network/mw/live/mountain-west-indoor-track-and-field-championships

Live results will be available at: http://www.liverunningresults.com/public_html/events/mwcindoor2015/

San Jose State University entries
60-meter dash
Caitlin Wilson Kelsey Johnson-Upshaw Maija Pinkins
60-meter high hurdles
Leah Lambert Makayla Webb
200-meter dash
Caitlin Wilson Maija Pinkins Lenae Stevens
Madiha Raza
400-meter dash
Makayla Webb Lenae Stevens
800 meters
Marayne Martin Angelica Parodi
Jennifer Beckingham
5,000 meters
Rebecca Garcia
4x400 meters relay
High Jump
Emma Sutherland
Long Jump
Cambree Harbaugh Leah Lambert Kelsey Johnson-Upshaw
Triple Jump
Nicole Iloanya Cambree Harbaugh Kelsey Johnson-Upshaw