Spartans Take Large Team To Run For The Dream Meet

Melanie Fujiwara is one of six Spartans scheduled to run in the mile.
Feb. 10, 2015

The San José State University women's track and field team will compete in its last regular season action before the Mountain West Conference Indoor Championships at the end of February when it returns to Fresno, Calif., for the 2015 Run for the Dream meet.

This year's meet is Monday, February 16, starting at 5:30 p.m. in the SaveMart Center on the Fresno State campus.

San José State has plans for 32 entries spread over the 55-meter high hurdles, the 55 and 300-meter dashes, the 800 and mile runs and the mile relay on the track. The Spartans also have entries in the high jump, long and triple jump taking place in the infield.

San José State is loading up in the sprints and jumps. Caitlin Wilson and Kelsey Johnson-Upshaw, the team's top two sprinters, are racing in the 55-meter dash for the first time this season. Hurdlers Makayla Webb and Leah Lambert have their second competition in nine days in the 55-mter hurdles after debuting in the 60-meter hurdles on February 7 in the Jacksons/NB Boise Invitational. Johnson-Upshaw is joining Nicole Iloanya and Cambree Harbaugh in the horizontal jumps and Emma Sutherland takes aim for the third week in a row in the high jump.



Harbaugh became the first San José State women's track and field athlete to win an event outright when she placed first in the triple jump with a season-best mark of 11.90 meters at the Jacksons/NB Boise Invitational. She also placed first among collegians and second overall in the long jump at 5.65 meters.

Ticket prices range from $4.00 to $12.00 per person. Paid parking is available in the lots adjacent SaveMart Center.

Run for the Dream entries
Save Mart Center, Fresno, Calif.
February 16, 2015
High Jump - 5:30 p.m.
Emma Sutherland
55 meter high hurdles - 5:30 p.m.
Leah Lambert Makayla Webb
55 meters - 6:02 p.m.
Kayla Denson Kelsey Johnson-Upshaw Leah Lambert
Ariana Larson Maija Pinkins Madiha Raza
Lenae Stevens Makayla Webb Caitlin Wilson
Triple Jump - 6:15 p.m.
Cambree Harbaugh Nicole Iloanya
Long Jump - 7:45 p.m.
Cambree Harbaugh Kelsey Johnson-Upshaw
800 meters - 7:50 p.m.
Morgan Bailey Marissa Buckley Miranda Dos Santos
Marayne Martin Agnes Portal Jessica Stacey
300 meters - 8:24 p.m.
Raven Adams Kayla Denson Madiha Raza
Mile Run - 8:44 p.m.
Melanie Fujiwara Breanna Garcia Jenay Jauregui
Allison Kimura Karina Nunes Diana Orozco
Mile Relay - 9:35 p.m.

 - ,