San Jose State Women's Tennis Named To 2013 ITA All-Academic List

Jessica Willett now is a two-time ITA Scholar-Athlete Award winner.

Aug 15, 2013

Princeton, N.J.-----For the second consecutive year, San Jose State University was honored with an Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-Academic Team award.

The award is given annually to the collegiate men's and women's tennis teams at four and two-year schools that belong to the ITA and have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.20 or higher on a 4.00 scale among all eligible team members.

"This past year was an incredible one for our program and everyone involved with it. Not only did our team achieve greatness on the court by winning our first conference championship and making it to the NCAA Tournament, but our student-athletes did even better in the classroom," says San Jose State head coach Sylvain Malroux who is embarking on his third season with the Spartans.

"Being an ITA All Academic team and having three individuals named an ITA Scholar-Athlete is a wonderful accomplishment. We are so proud of them; we are excited to start a new season and build on the great foundation from last season."

The 2013 Spartans won the Western Athletic Conference championship, qualified for the NCAA Tournament for the first time in school history, finished with a 19-6 dual match record and was ranked 63rd in the final ITA NCAA Division I rankings. Prior to the 2013 season, no San Jose State team was listed in a top-75 in the final ITA national rankings.

San Jose State is one of eight Mountain West schools recognized for academic excellence in women's tennis last season.

Additionally, the ITA announced its scholar-athletes for 2012-13. Junior-to-be Jessica Willett, senior-to-be Julianna Bacelar and sophomore Klaudia Boczova were named for possessing a 3.50 or higher grade-point average and playing regularly for the Spartans. Willett (Fallbrook, Calif.) now is a two-time honoree and Bacelar (Goiania, Brazil) received her first ITA Scholar-Athlete Award.

Click here for the ITA's list of 2012-13 All-Academic Team award winners and Scholar-Athletes.