Women's Tennis Set For MW Championships

Gaelle Rey went 2-0 in singles at last year's MW Championship.
April 28, 2016

Tournament Central

FORT COLLINS, Colo. – San José State’s women’s tennis team begins its pursuit of a conference crown at the 2016 Mountain West Championships when it takes on Boise State in nearby Greeley, Colo., on Friday at 9:00 a.m. MT/8:00 a.m. PT.

The Spartans (11-9, 2-2 MW) are the tournament’s No. 4 seed, while the Broncos (12-9, 4-2 MW) grabbed the No. 5 seed. Both teams earned a first-round bye by virtue of a top-five finish among Mountain West teams.   


"With the weather we will be playing inside on Friday. We are ready and looking forward to a tough challenge against Boise State," says Spartans' head coach Chad Skorupka.

San José State’s Marie Klocker and Sybille Gauvain enter Friday’s match fresh off being named All-Mountain West performers in both singles and doubles. Klocker became the most honored women's tennis player in San José State history with her third first-team All-Mountain West selection as a singles player and third first-team all-conference award in doubles.

The tournament runs a single-elimination format throughout. The winner of the San José State-Boise State match moves on to take on either top-seed Fresno State, No. 8 Air Force or No. 9 Utah State on Saturday at 10:00 a.m. MT/9:00 a.m. PT. The weekend culminates in Sunday’s Mountain West Championship at 11:00 a.m. MT/10:00 a.m. PT.

Due to inclement weather in the forecast, the tournament’s sites and times are subject to change throughout the weekend.