Spartans Head To Mountain West Championships

Sabastiani Leon Chao has the highest overall singles record (20-11) going into the MW Championships.

April 21, 2014

San José, Calif. --- The San José State University women's tennis team looks to win its second conference championship in a row as it heads to Fresno, Calif., for the Mountain West Championships starting on Wednesday, April 23 through Sunday, April 27.

The Spartans earned a #6 seed in the tournament and will compete against #11-seeded Colorado State in the first round on Wednesday at 2:00 p.m. (PT).

This is San José State's first appearance in the Mountain West Conference after winning the WAC Championships in the 2012-13 season. In last year's WAC Championship, the Spartans advanced to the championship for the first time in school history after defeating Louisiana Tech, 4-2. San José State did not lose a set as they topped UTSA 4-0 and advanced to the semifinal round. The Spartans won the WAC Championship title after defeating the University of Denver, 4-3.

In the 2013-14 dual match season, San José State finished with an overall record of 11-13. In the last two matches of the season, the Spartans won 4-3 against the University of Nevada and UC Davis. Against UC Davis, senior Sabastiani Leon Chao set a school record with the most career wins after winning her 131st career win against UC Davis.  

Along with San José State, Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, #68 Fresno State, San Diego State, San Diego State, New Mexico, Nevada, UNLV, Utah State, and Wyoming all compete for the Mountain West Conference.

Live coverage of the championships will be available at!/page/championship_w-tennis. Quarterfinal matches start at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. PT on April 25, followed by the semifinals at 10 a.m. PT on April 26. The championship match is scheduled to take place at 10 a.m. PT on Sunday, April 27 at the Spalding G. Wathen Tennis Center located on the Fresno State campus.


First Round Match-ups:

10 a.m. PT        First Round Match #1     No. 8 UNLV vs. No. 9 Air Force

2 p.m. PT          First Round Match #2     No. 7 Nevada vs. No. 10 Utah State

2 p.m. PT          First Round Match #3     No. 6 San José State vs. No. 11 Colorado State