Pair Of Desert Showdowns On Deck For Spartans

Marie Klocker (left) and Gaelle Re (right) will be counted on to get the Spartans off to a fast start in doubles this weekend.
Feb. 18, 2016

Upcoming match: San José State (4-0, 0-0 MW) at #54 Arizona (6-2, 0-0 Pac-12)

Date: Friday, Feb. 19

Time: 2:00 p.m. MT/1:00 p.m. PT

Location: LaNelle Robson Tennis Center (Tucson, Ariz.)


Upcoming match: San José State (4-0, 0-0 MW) at #27 Arizona State (4-2, 0-0 Pac-12)

Date: Saturday, Feb. 20

Time: 12:00 p.m. MT/11:00 a.m. PT

Location: Whiteman Tennis Center (Tempe, Ariz.)


SAN JOSE, Calif. – San José State’s women’s tennis team heads to the desert for two of its toughest matches of the season this weekend when it visits No. 54 Arizona and No. 27 Arizona State.

The Spartans (4-0) dropped out of the national rankings this week despite starting the season undefeated. They will have an opportunity to jump back inside the top-75 by pulling off at least one upset against the nationally-ranked Arizona schools.

The Wildcats (6-2) dropped their season opener to Hawai’i, which San José State beat, but have trended up ever since. After dipping to No. 65, Arizona moved up to No. 58 and now to No. 54 thanks to a pair of three-match winning streaks. Arizona State (4-2) also lost their first match of the season, but responded with a four-match win streak before being upended by No. 17 Pepperdine on Monday.

San José State will have to contend with five ranked individuals or tandems this weekend: No. 36 Desirae Krawczyk (ASU), No. 39 Lauren Marker (UA), and No. 98 Kassidy Jump (ASU) in singles, and No. 54 Alexandra Osborne/Ebony Panoho (ASU) and No. 56 Shayne Austin/Lauren Marker (UA) in doubles. For the Spartans, Marie Klocker remains the 82nd-ranked singles player in the country.

Fans can follow along with Friday’s live action at LaNelle Robson Tennis Center by clicking HERE.