Women's Tennis Opens Season At Florida Atlantic & FIU

Jan. 20, 2017

The San Jose State University women's tennis team opens its 2017 dual meet season with non-conference matches at Florida Atlantic on January 22 and at Florida International (FIU) on January 23.

The Florida Atlantic match is at 10:00 a.m. (ET)/7:00 a.m. (PT) and the contest against FIU begins at 1:00 p.m. (ET)/10:00 a.m. (PT).

San Jose State had a successful 2016 tournament season winning 62.1 percent of its singles and 59.5 percent of its doubles matches. Freshman Tamara Culibrk was the top singles player in terms of winning percentage at 78.4 percent. Junior Sybille Gauvain begins the dual meet season ranked #96 nationally in the January 4 International Tennis Association's (ITA) rankings.

The Spartans also have the doubles team of Culibrk and sophomore Miyo Kobayashi ranked 41st nationally after compiling a 7-1 record in the 2016 fall tournament season. The highlight of the fall for Culibrk and Kobayashi was advancing to the championship semifinal round of the Stanford Invitational.

Seniors Marie Klocker and Gaelle Rey are ranked four-five on the San Jose State list for career wins. Klocker has 122 combined singles and doubles victories; Rey, 120. They are chasing the school mark of 132 set by Sebastiani Leon Chao during the 2012 through 2015 seasons.

Florida Atlantic was 12-8 in dual matches last year.

FIU was 17-3 and finished last season ranked 46th in the final ITA rankings. FIU's top singles player, Andrea Lozano, is #54 among NCAA Division I singles players by the ITA.