Women's Tennis Opens Dual Match Season With Nevada, Hawai'i

Julianna Bacelar and Justine Deleval were 3-1 as a doubles pair during the Fall season.

Jan. 15, 2014

For the first time, San Jose State begins a women's tennis season nationally ranked in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) ranking. The Spartans can solidify their spot among the elite in the game when they take on the University of Nevada, Wednesday, January 15, and the University of Hawai'i, Thursday, January 16.

Both matches take place at the University of Hawai'i Tennis Complex. The Nevada match starts at 11:00 a.m. (HT)/1:00 p.m. (PT) and the contest with host Hawai'i starts at 3:00 p.m. (HT)/5:00 p.m. (PT).

Under Sylvain Malroux, now in his third season, the Spartans are ranked 65th in the January 2 ITA Division I team rankings. San José State won 58 percent of its matches in the Fall Tournament season and split a combined 12 contests either in singles or doubles against Pacific-12 Conference member schools.

Senior Julianna Bacelar led the Spartans with a .706 winning percentage in the fall. In 2013, Bacelar se a new school record for most combined wins and losses in singles and doubles with 54.

Nevada (0-1) lost its opener to Hawai'i, 5-2, on January 15. The WolkPack lost two of three doubles contests and four of the six singles matches.