Dans, Gauvain Claim Spot In Sunday’s Doubles Final

Sybille Gauvain is now 6-0 on the weekend.
Oct. 10, 2015

MORAGA, Calif. – Marine Dans and Sybille Gauvain of the San José State University women’s tennis team advanced via walkover in Saturday’s doubles semifinal at the Saint Mary’s Fall Invitational.

The duo will take on fourth-seeded Jana McCord and Jamie Pawid of host Saint Mary’s at 8:30 a.m. Sunday morning for the “A” bracket doubles crown.

Gauvain is also the only remaining Spartan in a championship singles bracket. The sophomore bested Chelby Cooke of Santa Clara in three sets in the round of 16 and then topped Gonzaga’s Nevada Apollo in the quarterfinals.

Dans and Marie Klocker joined Gauvain as round of 16 winners with wins over counterparts from Eastern Michigan and Cal, respectively, but each fell in the next round.

After playing in the deciding doubles match, Gauvain will look to topple Gonzaga’s Sophia Whittle in the singles semifinals at 9:30 a.m. The winner of that match will advance to the finals, to be played at 12:30 p.m.

Saint Mary’s Fall Invitational

Timothy Korth Tennis Complex (Moraga, Calif.)

Saturday, October 10, 2015

A Bracket
SF      Marine Dans/Sybille Gauvain (SJSU) def. Lucy Butkovska/Jelena Lazarevic[2] (POR): Wo (inj)
C       Marie Klocker/Gaelle Rey[1] (SJSU) def. Andrea Martinovska/Klara Supejova (EMU): 8-7.

B Bracket
C       Domonique Garley/Sissi Koehler (GON) def. Justine Deleval/Miyo Kobayashi (SJSU): 8-3. 

A Bracket
16      Marine Dans (SJSU) def. Klara Supejova (EMU): 7-5,2-6,6-3.
16      Sybille Gauvain[8] (SJSU) def. Chelby Cooke (SC): 4-6,6-2,6-2.
16      Marie Klocker (SJSU) def. Olivia Hauger[3] (CAL): 7-6,6-3.
QF     Sophia Whittle (GON) def. Marine Dans (SJSU): 6-2,6-2.
QF     Sybille Gauvain[8] (SJSU) def. Nevada Apollo (GON): 7-6,6-4.
QF     Jamie Pawid[7] (SM) def. Marie Klocker (SJSU): 0-6,6-3,6-0.
C       Gaelle Rey (SJSU) def. Andrea Martinovska (EMU): 6-7,6-1,11-9.
C       Gaelle Rey (SJSU) def. Kareena Manji (SM): 2-6,6-2,1-0.

B Bracket
16      Radina Dimitrova[1] def. Miyo Kobayashi (POR): 6-0,7-6.
C       Naomie Rosenberg (STAN): def. Francesca Sella (SJSU): Wo (inj).

C Bracket
QF     Sissi Koehler (GON) def. Justine Deleval (SJSU): 6-0,6-1.
C       Justine Deleval (SJSU) def. Marina Reimers (POR): 6-1,6-0.