Holden, Kilby Set School Records Vs. UC Santa Cruz

SANTA CRUZ, Calif. – San Jose State divers Jessica Holden and Amy Kilby each set school records and qualified for the postseason in the Spartans’ 180-105 dual meet victory over UC Santa Cruz on Friday.
Kilby broke Holden’s one-meter springboard diving record in the six-dive format with a score of 294.75. Holden’s previous record of 290.70 was also set at UC Santa Cruz in 2010.
Holden bettered her own three-meter, six-dive springboard record by scoring 303.80. She is the first SJSU diver to eclipse the 300-point mark in either springboard diving events based on six dives. Kilby also surpassed Holden’s previous record of 292.27, set last season against CSU Bakersfield, with a score of 294.65.
Both divers qualified for the NCAA Zone E diving competition with their performances.
“The standout performance of the day was the divers Jessica Holden and Amy Kilby both setting school records and qualifying for the postseason,” said San Jose State head coach Sage Hopkins.
In the pool, the Spartans turned in a dominating performance. Winning every event and taking first and second place in all events but one, the 500 freestyle, where they took first and third place.
“We had a great team performance,” Hopkins said. “Many of the swimmers had an opportunity to swim non-traditional events and we challenged them to approach their non-traditional events with the same enthusiasm they would with their traditional ones and they did a remarkable job of doing so”
Ashlyn Acosta swam a personal best in the 200 butterfly in 2:04.73 to win the event. Every event winner was a different San Jose State athlete. Junior captain Julia Craddock won the 200 backstroke in 2:09.67 and finished second in the 50 freestyle in 24.50 seconds.
Darcie Anderson won the 100 breaststroke in 1:04.50 and was second in the 100 freestyle in 53.26.
“There were too many great swims to single out,” Hopkins said.
The Spartans host their first home meet of the season Saturday, October 29, with UC Davis as the opponent at the Aquatics Center. The diving competition begins at 12:30 p.m., with swimming events set to start at 1:30 p.m.