Swimming & Diving Opens Season At Stanford

The San Jose State University women's swimming and diving team begins the 2009-10 campaign in a familiar place this Friday afternoon, October 2, at Stanford University's Avery Aquatic Center. The Spartans and Cardinal will be opening against each other for the fifth consecutive year, since Sage Hopkins took over the San Jose State program. The opener will pit the teams with the two longest known dual-meet win streaks nationally in the NCAA Division I. Stanford went a perfect 20-0 a year ago, and has won 25 consecutive duals. San Jose State reeled off a school-record 16 straight dual victories following its 170-102 opening loss at Stanford on October 3, 2008. The first of 16 events is scheduled to begin at 2:00 p.m. No admission fee is charged to attend meets at the Avery complex.


Live streaming video will be available on-line, potentially for a nominal subscription fee, through Stanford All-Access at GoStanford.com. Live results will also be available here. The links can be accessed at SJSUSpartans.com.

Dating back to a 156-144 loss at Georgia on November 9, 2007, the Cardinal have won 25 consecutive dual meets, including 19 in a row against Pacific-10 Conference opposition. They have come out on top in 41 of their last 42 duals in all. The Cardinal finished third at last year's Pac-10 Championships and fourth behind Cal, Georgia and Arizona at the NCAA Championships in College Station, Texas.

The Cardinal have 12 All-Americans on their current roster. Their top names are seniors Elaine Breeden and Julia Smit, both of whom are 19-time All-Americans. Breeden, out of Lexington, Ky., is a two-time NCAA butterfly champion and school record-holder in the 100 and 200 fly. Smit, from Mt. Sinai, N.Y., is a three-time NCAA champion in the individual medley, an American record-holder, and a member of 11 top-10 lists at Stanford, including individual marks in the 100 free and 200 and 400 IM.

The Cardinal diving contingent, led by 32nd-year diving coach Rick Schavone, is led by All-Americans Meg Hostage, the 2008 Pac-10 Diver of the Year as a freshman, and Carmen Stellar.

Stanford has beaten San Jose State to open each of the past four seasons. Lea Maurer, like Hopkins, begins her fifth season as the Stanford head coach. A former Stanford standout, she directed the Cardinal to a one-spot improvement at the NCAA Championships in each of her first three campaigns (5th in 2006, 4th in 2007 and 3rd in 2008). Maurer has compiled an impressive dual meet record of 50-3 (.943).

The day will follow a standard collegiate 16-event dual format, beginning with the 200 medley relay and ending with the 200 freestyle relay. The full order of events is as follows: 200 Medley Relay, 1000 Free, 200 Free, 100 Back, 100 Breast, 200 Fly, 50 Free, 100 Free, 200 Back, 200 Breast, 500 Free, 100 Fly, 200 IM and 200 Free Relay. Both regular diving events, from the one-meter and three-meter springboards, will be held at the Maas Family Diving Facility adjacent to the main pool.

Individual events will be scored to five places (1st-9; 2nd-4; 3rd-3; 4th-2; 5th-1). Relays will be scored to three places (1st-11; 2nd-4; 3rd-2).

After this Friday's opener at Stanford, San Jose State and The Aquatics Center on campus are proud to be hosting the second annual Western Athletic Conference Shootout on Friday, October 9, and Saturday, October 10, with a total of seven teams on hand throughout the weekend. The swimming gets under way at 4:00 p.m. on Friday evening, and 10:00 a.m. on Saturday morning, with 11 events slated for each day.

San Jose State will be captained in the 2009-10 season by fourth-year senior Hannah Tringham, third-year senior Erin Garcia, and junior Kirsten Trammell. Trammell was also a tri-captain in 2008-09.

In addition to San Jose State's 16-meet dual win streak as a team, Spartan sophomore phenom Heather Denman has a lengthy streak of success of her own, heading into the new season. The native of Brookeville, Md., has won 25 consecutive races in dual meets. The last time that Denman was beaten in an individual event during a dual meet, was against Nevada in the 200 butterfly on the second day of the inaugural Western Athletic Conference Shootout in Las Cruces, N.M., on October 11, 2008. She was edged out by a mere .60 seconds to place second in that race. Denman has a total of 27 dual meet triumphs.

In 2009-10, San Jose State returns 16 letterwinners to join up with 10 newcomers. Eight of those returners are All-Western Athletic Conference performers, led by eight-time All-WAC honoree and junior tri-captain Kirsten Trammell. The other All-WAC Spartans are senior Hannah Tringham (3), juniors Rudie Guerrero (1), Julia Koch (3), Caitlin Macky (5) and Meghan McCurley (3), and sophomores Heather Denman (5) and Amy Friedhoff (2).