Swimming & Diving Wraps Season With Awards Banquet

San Jose, Calif. - The San Jose State University women's swimming and diving team handed out awards for the 2009-10 season at its end-of-the-year banquet inside the Gold Room at the Simpkins Stadium Center on South Campus on Saturday, May 1.

Junior tri-captain Kirsten Trammell and sophomore standout Heather Denman shared Swimmer of the Year distinction following a virtual tie as voted by their teammates.

Trammell, out of Goodyear, Ariz. (Xavier College Prep), produced a team-high 52 individual points at the 2010 Western Athletic Conference Championship in San Antonio, Texas, in late February. She earned four medals there, including her first career gold with a first-place finish in the 200 individual medley in a school-record time.

Denman, from Brookeville, Md. (Sherwood HS), backed Trammell with 51 points of her own at the conference meet, alongside a team-best 138 relay points. She was a six-time medalist (one gold, five silver), six-time All-WAC performer, and a part of three school-record swims in Texas.

Trammell also garnered Most Inspirational and Spartan Award honors, the latter presented annually to the student-athlete who is seen to possess all of the qualities it takes to be a Spartan, and for excellence in every facet of the program.

Denman was honored as the team's Scholar-Athlete as well, for combined achievement both academically and athletically.

Freshman Amy Kilby earned the Diver of the Year award. The product of Oklahoma City, Okla. (Putnam City North HS), became the first Spartan diver since 2003 to make her way onto the medal stand at the WAC Championship with a bronze on the platform, contributing 19 points to the Spartans' team total in her first conference meet. Kilby set school marks in the one-meter and platform events on her way to the NCAA Zone E Meet in Texas in March.

Fellow freshman Kiley Foster (Alta Loma, Calif./Alta Loma HS) was named Most Improved on the strength of a stellar rookie season of Division I swimming, including anchor performances for the school-record 200 and 400 freestyle relays at the WAC Championship, the former earning her a first career gold. Foster's 36 individual points were most among Spartan newcomers.

Seniors Hannah Tringham (Cameron Park, Calif.), a four-year Spartan, and Erin Garcia (UC Santa Cruz/Archbishop Mitty HS), a three-year member of the program and its lone San Jose native, were bid one final fond farewell.

Trammell, Denman and fellow junior-to-be Megan Mills (Redlands, Calif./Redlands HS) were introduced as team tri-captains by head coach Sage Hopkins, who just concluded his fifth season in charge at San Jose State, with his Spartans placing a program-best third at the WAC Championship. Trammell will be in her third season as a tri-captain in 2010-11.

2009-10 San Jose State Women's Swimming and Diving Team Awards
Individual Awards
Most Improved: Kiley Foster, Fr.
Most Inspirational: Kirsten Trammell, Jr.
Scholar-Athlete: Heather Denman, So.
Spartan Award: Kirsten Trammell, Jr.
Diver of the Year: Amy Kilby, Fr.
Swimmer of the Year (tie): Heather Denman, So., & Kirsten Trammell, Jr.

2010-11 Team Tri-Captains
Heather Denman, Jr.
Megan Mills, Jr.
Kirsten Trammell, Sr.

2009-10 Team Tri-Captains
Erin Garcia, Sr.
Kirsten Trammell, Jr.
Hannah Tringham, Sr.