Swimming and Diving Hands Out Year-End Awards

The San Jose State women’s swimming and diving team celebrated its 2011-12 season with its annual year-end awards ceremony culminating with the Spartans receiving their Western Athletic Conference (WAC) championship rings.

The Spartans won their first WAC championship in February with 10 school records and 14 “B” standard qualifying marks. 

The team’s Swimmer of the Year award went to Marisa DeWames for the second straight year. A seven-time all-WAC honoree at this year’s championship, DeWames qualified for the 2012 NCAA Women’s Swimming Championship, making her the first Spartans swimmer to compete at the NCAA Championship in four years. She was part of seven school records during the season (three individual, four relay) and had five wins (two individual, three relay) at the WAC Championship.

The Diver of the Year award was given to Amy Kilby for the third year in a row. Kilby set a school record in the one-meter springboard with a score of 294.75 at UC Santa Cruz on October 28. Kilby qualified for the NCAA Zone “E” Diving Championship in both events, and was the Spartans’ top finisher at the WAC Championship in platform diving with a score of 241.05.
The Rookie of the Year went to freshman Michaela McLean. McLean earned first-team all-WAC honors in the 100 butterfly and scored 30 points for the team at the WAC Championship, the most of any Spartans freshman.
Senior Karly Brown earned the Most Improved Award. Brown was a second-team all-WAC swimmer in the 200 breaststroke and set top-four all-time marks in three different breaststroke events from 50 to 200 yards. Brown nearly tripled her points production for the team at the WAC Championship from last season, scoring 22 points compared to nine in 2010-11.
The Spartan Award, given to the student-athlete who is seen to possess all the qualities it takes to be a Spartan, was given to both Kirsten Trammell and Craddock. Each athlete was named a CollegeSwimming.com Mid-Major All-American honorable mention after swimming NCAA “B” qualifying marks during the season.
Trammell set new school records in each breaststroke event from 50 to 200 meters and was part of all three school-record medley relay teams (100, 200 and 400 yards). Craddock set a school record and swam an NCAA “B” qualifying mark in the 400 medley relay.
The Performance of the Year was a tie between the 200 medley relay team’s pool and program-record swim of 1:39.38 at the WAC Championship, and Megan Mills 500 freestyle swim at the WAC Championship. The 200 medley relay team of Heather Denman, Ashlyn Acosta, Meghan McCurley and Trammell shattered the school record by nearly two seconds in setting a new facility record at the Palo Alto College Aquatic Center.
Mills’ 500 freestyle performance at the WAC Championship was a personal best, the second-fastest time on the team all season, and the sixth-best all-time mark in the event at San Jose State.
Darcie Anderson was the recipient of the team’s Scholar-Athlete award. Anderson is one of four San Jose State University student-athletes to earn 2012 President's Scholar recognition, a two-time first-team All-WAC award winner in the breaststroke and a qualifier for the 2012 U.S. Olympics Team trials this summer.

Craddock, Anderson and DeWames were named team’s captains for next season.