Ashlyn Acosta Named San José State Swimmer Of The Year

Darcie Anderson received the Scholar-Athlete and Spartan Awards.

May 11, 2014

San José, Calif. --- Record-setting senior Ashlyn Acostawas named Swimmer of the Year at the annual San Jose State University Women's Swimming and Diving awards banquet.

In the 2013-14 season, Acosta, from Trabuco Canyon, Calif., set a new school record in the 100 butterfly with a time of 53.51 at the Arena Invitational in November 2013 and in the 400 medley relay at the Mountain West Championships. She earned All-Mountain West honors for her third place finish in the 100 fly and for her sixth place finish in the 200 fly at the 2014 Mountain West Championships.

During the conference championships, Acosta scored 27 individual points (+ 106 relay). She completed her Spartan career as an 11-time all-conference honoree.

Senior Taylor Curado and freshman Alysha Bushwere named Co-Rookies of the Year. Curado from Highland Ranch, Colo., swam a leg on the sixth place 800 free relay. Her 200 free split of 1:48.31 is her personal best and also the third fastest 200 free split in San José State history. Curado earned All-Mountain West honors for the 100 fly. This was Curado's first college all-conference swimming recognition.

Bush, from Newberg, Ore., already is in the top-five on the San Jose State all-time lists in the 50 and 100 free. She swam on the school record-setting 400 medley relay team, the fifth place 200 medley relay and the eighth place 400 free relay at the conference championship meet. Individually, she finished ninth in the 100 free and 13th in the 50 free at the Mountain West Championships.

Sophomore Riley Spitserreceived the awards for Performance of the Year and Most Improved. At the Mountain West Championships, Spitser won the consolation final in the 500 free with a school-record time of 4:47.85, breaking her own previous school record of 4:50.23. At the conference championships, she established new school standards in the 200, 500, 1,000 and 1,650 freestyles.

Senior Darcie Andersonwas the other two-time award winner at the team banquet. Anderson received the Scholar-Athlete and Spartan Awards. Anderson recently earned her second San Jose State University President's Scholar recognition for earning a 4.00 cumulative grade-point average in multiple semesters. She was an all-conference swimmer in the 100 breast and served as one of the Spartans' three team captains for the season.

Senior Erika Harveyshared the Spartan Award that signified the team's best all-around contributor to the program with Anderson. Harvey was an all-conference swimmer in the 50 free at the Mountain West Championships for her 11th all-conference award in her four-year career. The freestyle sprint specialist has times that rank in San Jose State's top-10 list in the 50, 100 and 200 freestyles and is one-fourth of the school-record holding quartets in the 200, 400 and 800 freestyles.

2014 San José State University Women's Swimming & Diving team awards

Award Award Recipients
Swimmer of the Year Ashlyn Acosta
Most Improved Riley Spitser
Rookies of the Year Alysha Bush, Taylor Curado
Performance of the Year

Riley Spitser- Mountain West Championships,
500 freestyle consolation final victory

Scholar-Athlete Darcie Anderson
Spartan Awards Darcie Anderson, Erika Harvey