Katey Nelson ? Multiple Awards At Swim & Dive Banquet

San Jose, Calif. - Katey Nelson, one of four seniors on the 2008-09 San Jose State University women’s swimming and diving team, needed a crate to carry home her awards following the team’s annual awards banquet recognizing the best dual meet season in school history.

The backstroke specialist received the team’s Spartan Award for her team and school spirit, Most Inspirational, one of the team’s Most Improved awards and was cited as an Academic All-Western Athletic Conference (WAC) student-athlete for the 2008-09 season. Nelson, from Santa Rosa, Calif., was a first-team All-WAC honoree with her second-place finish in the 200 backstroke at the conference championship meet in San Antonio, Texas, last February. She aided the Spartans to one of the nation’s longest dual-meet winning streaks at 16 en route to a 16-1 record prior to a very productive fourth-place finish at the WAC Championship termed the fastest and most competitive in conference history by head coach Sage Hopkins.

Heather Denman, a freshman from Brooksville, Md., was named the team’s Swimmer of the Year. The 2009 WAC champion in the 100 and 200 backstroke, she was the conference’s Freshman of the Year, the Most Outstanding Female Swimmer at the 2008 UCI/Nike Cup, and met NCAA Championships 'B' standards a total of nine times in her first season at the collegiate level. Denman also set school records 13 times and posted 27 individual event victories in dual meet competition.

Hannah Tringham, a junior from Cameron Park, Calif., and an Academic All-America candidate, received the Scholar-Athlete Award. The interior design major was another of the 12 swimmers and divers to earn Academic All-WAC honors this season. Tringham, three times Academic All-WAC, was a second-team All-WAC swimmer in the 400 individual medley and 200 butterfly.

Jo Thibodaux, a sophomore from Alvin, Texas, was named Diver of the Year. Her 21.5 points at the WAC Championship are the most points scored by a San Jose State diver at a conference championship meet in six years. Thibodaux, an Academic All-WAC honoree for the second year in a row, qualified for the NCAA Zone E Diving Meet to complete her best season of collegiate competition to date.

Rudie Guerrero, a sophomore from Vacaville, Calif., and Kristin Yamaguchi, a freshman from Laguna Niguel, Calif., shared the Most Improved Award with Nelson. Guerrero earned second-team All-WAC honors in the 100 butterfly.  Yamaguchi anchored the Spartans’ 400 freestyle relay team that posted a season-best time at the WAC Championship.

Ashley Ladd, a sophomore from Mission Viejo, Calif.; Caitlin Macky, a sophomore from San Diego; Meghan McCurley, a sophomore from Fair Oaks, Calif.; Tarolyn Robertson, a senior from Santee, Calif.; and Kirsten Trammell, a sophomore from Goodyear, Ariz., also were cited as Academic All-WAC swimmers. Robertson and Nelson are two of the University’s current four-time Academic All-WAC student-athletes for earning and maintaining at least a 3.00 cumulative grade-point average and competing in at least 50 percent of the team’s meets during the season.

Tringham, Trammell and Erin Garcia, a junior from San Jose, were named team captains for the 2009-10 season.

Nelson, Robertson, Beste Erener, a six-time All-WAC swimmer during her career from Istanbul, Turkey, and Lauren Mar, from San Francisco, whose 633.5 points (individual and relay combined) in four WAC Championship meets are the most by a San Jose State swimmer, were recognized as the 2008-09 senior class.