DeWames, Craddock & Kilby Take Top Honors

            Seniors Marisa DeWames and Julia Craddock were named Co-Swimmers of the Year and Amy Kilby, Diver of the Year, at the annual San Jose State University women’s swimming and diving team’s awards banquet.

            DeWames, from Thousand Oaks, Calif., successfully defended her 50 freestyle title at the 2013 Western Athletic Conference (WAC) Championships and swam on the Spartans’ victorious 200 medley and 200 freestyle relay teams as San Jose State made it back-to-back conference team titles. During the WAC Championships, she set a school record in the 200 freestyle final finishing second in a 1:48.53 time.

            Craddock, from Litchfield Park, Ariz., swam on the Spartans’ winning 200 freestyle and 800 freestyle relay teams and set San Jose State records in the 200 and 400 individual medley races at the WAC Championships. The 800 freestyle relay that posted a 7:15.39 time crushed the previous school record of 7:18.99 by 3.60 seconds. Craddock finished fourth in the 200 IM and second in the 400 IM at the WAC Championships. The four-year letterwinner also received the Spartan Award signifying the team’s best all-around contributor to the program, for the second year in a row.

            Kilby, from Oklahoma City, Okla., was second in platform diving, third on the 3-meter board and fourth in 1-meter diving at the WAC Championships. She set a pair of school records in platform diving for most points in five and 10 dives.

            Kilby also shared the team’s Scholar-Athlete Award with junior Darcie Anderson. Kilby and Anderson were recognized as San Jose State University Dean’s Scholars at the 51st annual Honors Convocation on April 26. Anderson was the 2012 Scholar-Athlete Award winner.

            Senior Andrea Chan from San Francisco received the team’s Most Improved award. Chan reached three individual event championship finals compared to none her junior season in 2012. She was eighth in the 200 and 400 individual medleys and the 200 butterfly.

            Michelle Berry from San Jose was named the Rookie of the Year. The distance freestyle specialist was eighth in the 500 and 12th in the 1650 freestyle races at the WAC Championship.

            The 800 freestyle relay quartet consisting of Amy Friedhoff, Craddock, Erika Harvey and Kiley Foster turned in the team’s Performance of the Year.

2013 San Jose State University Women's Swimming & Diving team awards

Swimmers of the Year: Marisa DeWames, Julia Craddock
Diver of the Year: Amy Kilby
Spartan Award: Julia Craddock
Most Improved: Andrea Chan
Rookie of the Year: Michelle Berry
Scholar-Athletes Award: Darcie Anderson, Amy Kilby
Performance of the Year: 800 freestyle relay team (Amy Friedhoff, Julia Craddock, Erika Harvey, Kiley Foster) at the WAC Championship.