San Jose State Wins WAC Swimming and Diving Title

SAN ANTONIO -- San Jose State University won its first Western Athletic Conference Women's Swimming and Diving Championship Saturday at the Palo Alto College Aquatic Center.

The Spartans finished the four-day championship with a 728 team score. Northern Arizona was second at 622 and Hawai'i was third with a 524 in the eight-team championship.

San Jose State had first-place finishes in eight of the 21 events (4 individual, 4 relay) during the four-day meet, including three winners on the final day.

Following the conclusion of the championship, San Jose State's Sage Hopkins was voted WAC Coach of Year. Marisa DeWames was named Swimmer of the Year, the first such award for a Spartan, in a vote by the conference's eight coaches.

DeWames won twice Saturday to bring her meet total to five victories. She swam a school-record 49.05 to win the 100 freestyle and was part of a school-record swim in the 400 free relay that finished in 3:18.88.

DeWames swam three individual San Jose State school records and was part of four school record-setting relay teams.

In all, San Jose State set 10 school records and swam 14 NCAA “B” standard times over four days at the championship. Divers Amy Kilby (241.05) and Jessica Holden (214.75) both surpassed the Spartans’ five-dive platform record, with Kilby automatically qualifying for the NCAA Zone “E” Diving competition with her score.

Kirsten Trammell won her second individual event with a school record 2:12.48 in the 200 breaststroke. Darcie Anderson finished second in 2:14.81 to give the Spartans a 1-2 finish in both breaststroke events at the championship.

The Spartans’ 400 freestyle relay team put an accent on the championship in winning by nearly five seconds over second-place New Mexico State. The squad of Meghan McCurley, Kiley Foster, Erika Harvey and DeWames broke the San Jose State mark by 1.25 seconds.

2012 Western Athletic Conference Women's Swimming & Diving Championship – Final Day, Feb. 25, 2012

At The Aquatic Center at Palo Alto College, San Antonio, Texas

(Event winners and SJSU finishers)

1,650 Freestyle

1 Mengjiao Mi (Nevada), 16:33.57. 6. Amy Friedhoff, 17:04.78. 11. Caitlin Lipton, 17:21.35. --- Megan Mills, X17:12.00.

200 Backstroke

1. Fiona Connell (Northern Arizona), 1:56.56. 8. Briana Swinney, 2:04.66. 11 Christina Bruni, 2:03.59. 12. Haley Smith, 2:04.04.

100 Freestyle

1. Marisa Dewames, 49.05. 4. Kiley Foster, 50.27. 7. Erika Harvey, 50.84. 8. Meghan McCurley, 51.05. 17. Brittney Boyd, 51.73. --- Amber Nelson, X53.84.

200 Breaststroke

1. Kirsten Trammell, 2:12.48. 2. Darcie Anderson, 2:14.81. 7. Karly Brown, 2:18.70.

200 Butterfly

1. Rachel Palmer (Northern Arizona),  1:58.82. 2. Julia Craddock, 2:00.52. 4. Ashlyn Acosta, 2:02.44. 5. Heather Denman, 2:02.98. 13. Michaela McLean, 2:07.49. --- Kayla Nakamoto, X2:07.31. --- Andrea Chan, X2:08.45.

Platform Diving

1. Hannah Prigge (Fresno State), 9. Amy Kilby, 241.05. 11. Jessica Holden, 214.75.

400 Freestyle Relay

1. San Jose State (McCurley, Foster, Harvey, DeWames), 3:18.88. 2. New Mexico State, 3:23.63.

Team Rankings
1. San Jose State   728
2. Northern Arizona 622
3. Hawaii         524
4. New Mexico State 429
5. Nevada         377
6. Fresno State         364
7. Idaho           318
8. North Dakota         206