San Jose State Heads To Mountain West Swimming & Diving Championships

Feb. 14, 2017

College Station, Texas -- The San Jose State Spartans women's swimming and diving team is fully prepared for the Mountain West Championships in College Station, Texas, February 15-18.

The four-day meet will be streamed live on the Mountain West Network. Viewers can watch preliminary heats in 21 events starting at 12:30 p.m. (CT)/10:30 a.m. (PT) on February 15 and 11:00 a.m. (CT)/9:00 a.m. (PT) the remaining three days. at 12:30p.m. CT with the 1-meter springboard preliminaries. The competition will continue on through Thursday and Friday and conclude on Saturday the 18th. The evening sessions with three finals on February 15, five on February 16, six on February 17, and seven on February 18 begin at 6:30 p.m. (CT)/4:30 p.m. (PT).

"I'm very happy with the season so far. We have made progress in a number of areas, technically, tactically, and also the team chemistry is very strong," said San Jose State head coach Sage Hopkins.

"We are tougher than anybody else. I'm very excited I can't wait to get this thing going tomorrow night. The team is ready to go."

The Spartans finished its dual meet season with a 4-3 win-loss record. Cari Reiswig broke the San Jose State record in the 1-meter dive. She was a Mountain West Women's Diver of the Week and qualified for the 2017 NCAA Zone E Diving Championships in March. Teammate Natasha Sondeno's score of 202.10 on the platform is #4 on the school's career top-10 list.


 

 

Both Colleen Humel and Brenna Bushey swam NCAA Championships "B cuts" times. Humel "B cuts" are in the 100 and 200 backstroke; Bushey's in the 100 butterfly. Humel also swam her career best time of 25.41 in the 50 back, which is #3 on the San Jose State all-time list.

"The thing I'm most proud of is how the ladies have worked through any adversity and how they have strengthened as both a team and as individuals," said the San Jose State head coach who also pointed to the team's academic performance as one of the measuring sticks of a successful season. The Spartans earned recognition from the College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association as a Scholar All-America team for the eighth consecutive semester.

"I'm excited to get best times from our swimmers, best scores from the divers, break school records and get people to the NCAA Championships," Hopkins concluded.