Cox Represents Australia At World Cup of Softball

San Jose-After playing her freshmen year at San Jose State, outfielder Michelle Cox is spending the summer playing softball for Aussie Spirit, the Australian Open Women's Team.  This week, the team plays at the World Cup of Softball VII at the ASA Stadium in Oklahoma City, Okla.

 

Competing at the World Cup of Softball presented by Lumber Liquidators are the United States, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Netherlands and Puerto Rico.  All games involving the United States will be shown on ESPN or ESPN2.  Australia faces the United States on Friday night at 6 p.m. CDT, on ESPN.   All other games will be streamed live with a link posted on the tournament page.  Click here for that link. 

 

Cox, in her second year as a member of the Aussie Spirit, will play in three tournaments this summer.  After the World Cup of Softball, the team will travel to Canada for the Canadian Open Fastpitch Championships, July 4-9, in Vancouver, followed by the ISF XIII World Championships, July 13-22, in Yukon.  The World Championship games will be streams through www.sportscanada.tv.

 

Cox begins her second year at San Jose State this fall after being honored as a second team All-Western Athletic Conference selection in the outfield her freshman year.  She led the Spartans in hitting with a .366 average, 60 hits and 26 stolen bases.  Cox scored 36 runs and was walked 22 times while hitting in the two-spot of the order.

 

#                        #                        #

 

Schedule for Australia

Thurs., June 28 vs. Brazil 2:00 p.m. CDT/12:00 p.m. PDT
Fri., June 29 vs. Canada 11:30 a.m. CDT/9:30 a.m. PDT
Fri., June 29 vs. USA (ESPN, ESPN3) 6:00 p.m. CDT/4:00 p.m. PDT
Sat.,. June 30 vs. Puerto Rico 8:30 p.m. CDT/6:30 p.m. PDT
Sun., July 1 vs. Netherlands 2:30 p.m. CDT/12:30 p.m. PDT
Mon., July 2 #5 vs. #6 1:00 p.m. CDT/11:00 a.m. PDT
  #3 vs. #4 4:00 p.m. CDT/2:00 p.m. PDT
  #1 vs. #2 8:00 p.m. CDT/6:00 p.m. PDT