Women's Soccer Honors 2006 Team At Annual Banquet

San Jose, Calif. - The San Jose State University women’s soccer team handed out awards at its end-of-the-year banquet for the 2006 season on Wednesday, December 6. For the second year in a row, the event was held inside the Simpkins Stadium Center Gold Room on the SJSU campus.

Cristin Murphy, a senior tri-captain and outside midfielder out of Aptos, Calif., and Cabrillo College (Aptos High School), earned “Offensive Player of the Year” recognition, as voted on by her teammates. Murphy was previously named to the All-Western Athletic Conference second team, as well as to the WAC All-Tournament Team. She shared the conference lead with six assists on the season, to go with two goals scored for 10 total points, third-best on the team. Her six assists included assists on both goals in a 2-1, come-from-behind win in overtime at area rival Saint Mary’s, and a spectacular effort on Lauren Moniz’s SJSU opener in a 3-2 overtime loss at UC Davis. Murphy started all 19 games in which she played, missing the Boise State and Idaho games due to an injury suffered at Santa Clara. Twelve of her 31 shots were on goal.

Sophomore defender Brittny Beshore (Soquel, Calif./Soquel HS), one of just four Spartan players to start all 21 games in 2006, was voted as the “Defensive Player of the Year.” Beshore played the second-most amount of minutes of any Spartan and provided an assist on the opening goal in a 3-1 home victory over Notre Dame de Namur University on September 15. She took seven shots on the year, with two on goal.

Heidi Romswinckel-Guise, a versatile junior out of Ben Lomond, Calif., and San Lorenzo Valley High School, was chosen the recipient of the “Circuit Award,” given each year to the individual who best exemplifies the spirit of Spartan women’s soccer. Romswinckel-Guise started five straight games as a central defender, and also played in midfield and at forward, making 15 appearances in all for 2006. She was credited with 10 shots, two of them on goal.

Beshore and Romswinckel-Guise had shared “Co-Midfielder of the Year” honors in the Santa Cruz Coast Athletic League as prep players, with Murphy also hailing from the same league.

Hallsie Pacheco, a midfielder out of Lodi (Calif.) High School, picked up “Freshman of the Year” honors. Pacheco played in all 21 games, starting six. She registered a pair of assists on the year for two points, in wins against Notre Dame de Namur and Hawai’i. Seven of her 12 shots were on goal.

The final award of the evening, the “Coaches’ Award,” went for the second year in a row to junior Kristin Krale (San Jose, Calif./Independence HS). Krale started all 21 games in 2006, including the final nine in central defense after starting out the year as an outside midfielder. She finished with two goals and one assist offensively for five total points, seventh-best on the team. Krale played the most minutes of any Spartan in 2006. Seven of her 15 shots were on goal.

Dave Siracusa, who completed his third season as the San Jose State head coach, and assistant coaches Craig Winans and Adrienne Herbst handed out the awards, with a highlight film closing out the night’s festivities. Siracusa led the Spartans to their most overall wins since 2000 and third straight season with an improved overall win total.

The Spartans begin spring training on Monday, February 5.

2006 San Jose State Women’s Soccer Team Awards

Players’ Awards
Offensive Player of the Year: Cristin Murphy, Sr., MF
Defensive Player of the Year: Brittny Beshore, So., D
Freshman of the Year: Hallsie Pacheco, MF
Circuit Award: Heidi Romswinckel-Guise, Jr., D/MF/F

Coaches’ Award
Kristin Krale, Jr., D/MF