Four Spartans Receive All-WAC Honors

FRESNO, Calif. — A total of four San Jose State women’s soccer players earned All-Western Athletic Conference honors Wednesday when the 2011 season’s all-conference teams were announced at the WAC Soccer Tournament banquet in Fresno.
Seniors Jessica Ingram, Meghan Maiwald and Lauren Sanchez, along with junior Kelsey Lord, were all named to the All-WAC second team. The four all-conference awards top last season’s total of three for the Spartans. It is the third straight season the team has had at least three all-conference honorees, and fourth time in the last five years.
WAC regular season champion, Utah State, led all teams with five players on the conference first team, as well as two players on the second team. The Aggies also won all four of the end-of-season awards.
Senior forward Shantel Flanary was named the WAC’s Offensive Player of the Year, while junior defender Natalie Norris received Defensive Player of the Year honors. Taryn Rose was named the league’s Freshman of the Year and Heather Cairns was named Coach of the Year.
Ingram, a senior defender from San Jose, collects her third All-WAC nod in as many seasons. Ingram played over 1,000 minutes in 14 games for the Spartans, making 13 starts. She has moved into eighth place all-time at San Jose State with 70 career starts. She was part of a defense this season that limited opponents to 1.67 goals per game and held them to a .498 shots on goal percentage.
Ingram was a first team All-WAC member in 2009 and 2010, and was also named WAC Defensive Player of the Year in 2009.
Maiwald, a senior goalkeeper from San Jose, started every game this season in goal for the Spartans. In 1,642 minutes minding the net she has recorded 100 saves (second-most in the WAC) and a 1.59 goals against average while posting four total shutouts. Her three solo shutouts this season gives her nine in her career, third-best all-time at San Jose State, while her 10 total career shutouts are tied for second all-time.
Sanchez, a senior midfielder from San Jose, earned her second straight All-WAC award after landing on the second team last season. Sanchez has started in all but three games for the Spartans in 2011 and has logged the most minutes of any field position player. Sanchez has scored two goals this season, including a game-winner against Portland State on Sept. 18. She was named WAC Offensive Player of the Week for Sept. 12-18.
Lord, a forward from Livermore, Calif., now has back-to-back All-WAC awards after being a member of the first team last season. Lord has been the Spartans’ leading offensive player all season. She has notched six goals and four assists for 16 points, and leads the team with 38 shots.
2011 has been a landmark year for Lord. She set the SJSU career record for assists with her 18th and tied the career record for game-winning goals with her fourth of the season and 10th of her career on Oct. 21 against New Mexico State. Lord has already this season moved into the top three for career records in goals (21) and points (60), and sits sixth all-time in shots (130).
2011 All-WAC Awards
First Team Callie Hancock, F, Jr., Fresno State Chelsea Small, F, Jr., Idaho Shantel Flanary, F, Sr., Utah State Molly Nizzoli, MF, Sr., Fresno State Jill Flockhart, MF, Jr., Idaho Kendra Pemberton, MF, So., Utah State Lauren Lindstom, D, So., Fresno State Kendall VanDine, D, Sr., Fresno State Summer Tillotson, D, Sr., Utah State Natalie Norris, D, So., Utah State Molli Merrill, GK, Sr., Utah State   Second Team Skye Shimabukuro, F,  Hawai’i Yolanda McMillion, F, Jr., New Mexico State Kelsey Lord, F, Jr., San Jose State Vanessa Gonzalez, MF, Jr., Fresno State Laura Dodd, MF, Sr., Fresno State Lauren Sanchez, MF, Sr., San Jose State Chandra Salmon-Christensen, D, Sr., Utah State Brittani Lum, D, Sr., Hawai’i Jessica Ingram, D, Sr., San Jose State Taryn Rose, D, Fr., Utah State Meghan Maiwald, GK, Sr., San Jose State     Offensive Player of the Year: Shantel Flanary, F, Sr., Utah State Defensive Player of the Year: Natalie Norris, Jr., D, Utah State Freshman of the Year: Taryn Rose, D, Fr., Utah State Coach of the Year: Heather Cairns, Utah State