Six Spartans Earn All-Mountain West Honors; Hanson Wins Coach Of The Year

Oct. 30, 2017

Colorado Springs, Colo. --- After guiding the San José State women's soccer team to a regular season title and a program-record nine conference wins, Lauren Hanson has been named the Mountain West Coach of the Year. The league also announced Darriell Franklin as the Defensive Player of the Year and Jamilecxth Becerra as the Newcomer of the Year. In total, six Spartans earned all-conference recognition, tying a school record.

"I'm flattered my colleagues thought of myself and our staff for the award and recognizing that it is very challenging to win this league," Hanson said. "I look at it as staff of the year and not coach of the year. So many people have a hand in the success of our program. We have great support from President Papazian and our Athletics Director Marie Tuite. The training staff keeps our players healthy, Coach Seagrove continues to keep our team fit and our facilities crew has kept our new field in great condition all year long. The list goes on and I just want to thank all of the people who helped us this year and thank our team for being so coachable."

The Spartans finished the season with a program-best 9-1-1 record in MW play and won the regular season championship for the first time since joining the league in 2013. The #1-seeded Spartans have a first-round bye and play in the semi-final match of the MW Tournament on Thursday, November 2.



"Our women's soccer program has established a tradition of winning and excellence, and at the center of this is Lauren Hanson," said San José State Director of Athletics Marie Tuite. "Her program gives hope and incentive to the 19 other programs we sponsor. Winning this award for the second time in three years means we have one of the best head coaches in the country. I want to congratulate Lauren for this honor and for guiding our Spartans to a regular season Mountain West Championship. She is simply exceptional and extraordinary."

Franklin wins the Defensive Player of the Year and All-MW First Team honors just a couple years removed from being an All-MW forward during her freshman year. While she was a staple in San José State's defense, her offensive prowess still shined this year with four goals during league play.

"Darriell has really stepped up into a leadership role for our program and I'm really happy for her that she's recognized as the Defensive Player of the Year," said Hanson.

Joining Franklin on the First Team is defender Myia Wilkes and forward Dorthe Hoppius. Franklin and Wilkes guided the Spartans' defense to four shutouts during the conference season, and Hoppius was one of the most threatening shot takers in the league taking more than four per game. Hoppius has now been on the All-MW First Team for three straight years.

"Didi and Myia are captains of this team and have put so much work into this program for four years," Hanson said. "To be recognized in this light is really rewarding. They should be proud of themselves and I'm very proud of them."

Becerra earned a trio of awards being the Newcomer of the Year, on the All-Newcomer Team and All-MW Second Team. The Sophomore from Modesto, Calif., tied for the league lead with four game-winning goals. Two of those game-winners were in the last full weekend of conference play when the Spartans clinched the regular season championship.

"Jaime is a goal scorer," Hanson said. "She really came into her own and got her confidence up which just fueled the fire and she continues to be so dynamic up top of us. It's fantastic to have the rookie of the year because we still get to have her for two more years."

Senior midfielder Yaritza Arista led the Spartans with four assists during league play and was voted All-MW Second Team. Junior midfielder Jennifer Orozco was voted to the MW All-Newcomer team alongside Becerra.

"Jamie and Jenny both have been outstanding for us," Hanson said. "They both were both so threatening all season long and the coaches recognized that."

It is the third consecutive year that San José State has had six players earn All-MW honors. Franklin is the third player in program history to win a conference defensive player of the year award joining Zoe Makrigiannis (2015 MW) and Jessica Ingram (2009 WAC). Becerra joins Kayla Santacruz (2010 WAC) and Liz Behlen (2005 WAC) as Spartans to win a "newcomer" or "freshman" of the year award.

San José State awaits the winner of #4-New Mexico and #5-Fresno State for a meeting in the MW Tournament semi-final match on Thursday, November 2, at 7:00 p.m. (PT).

Offensive Player of the Year: Raimee Sherle, So., F, Boise State
Defensive Player of the Year: Darriell Franklin, Jr., D, San José State
Newcomer of the Year: Jamilecxth Becerra, So., F, San José State
Coach of the Year: Lauren Hanson, San José State

2017 Mountain West Women’s Soccer All-Conference First Team
Name, Class, Position, Team
Jennifer Hiddink, Jr., GK, Air Force
Raimee Sherle, So., F, Boise State*--Two-Time First-Team selection
Lauren Milliet, Jr., MF, Colorado College
Julia Glaser, So., F, Fresno State
Jessie Hix, So., MF, New Mexico
Stacie Moran, Sr., D, San Diego State*--Two-Time First-Team selection
Darriell Franklin, Jr., D, San José State
Dorthe Hoppius, Sr., F, San José State*--Three-Time First-Team selection
Myia Wilkes, Sr., D, San José State
Sophie Cortes, Sr., MF, UNLV*--Two-Time First-Team Selection
Ashley Cardozo, Fr., MF, Utah State
2017 Mountain West Women’s Soccer All-Conference Second Team
Name, Class, Position, Team
Angela Karamanos, Sr., MF, Air Force*--Two-Time Second-Team Selection
Janelle Flores, Sr., GK, Boise State
Sarah Taylor, Sr., MF, Boise State
Jessie Vogel, Sr., D, Boise State
Myra Delgadillo, Sr., F, Fresno State*--Three-Time Second-Team Selection
Emily Chavez, R-Sr., D, New Mexico*--Two-Time Second-Team Selection
Claire Lynch, Sr., F, New Mexico
Aliyah Utush, Sr., F, San Diego State*--Two-Time Second-Team Selection
Yaritza Arista, Sr., MF, San José State
Jamilecxth Becerra, So., F, San José State
Chidera Akubuilo, Sr., D, UNLV
2017 Mountain West Women’s Soccer All-Newcomer Team
Name, Class, Position, Team
Alex Giggie, Fr., D, Air Force
Aubree Chatterton, Fr., MF, Boise State
Hunter Peifer, So., GK, Colorado State
Jessica Nelson, Jr., D, New Mexico
Chloe Frisch, Fr., MF, San Diego State
Mia Root, Fr., F, San Diego State
Jamilecxth Becerra, So., F, San José State
Jennifer Orozco, Jr., MF, San José State
Amanda Galbraith, Jr., MF, UNLV
Ashley Cardozo, Fr., MF, Utah State
Brittney Stark, Jr., F, Wyoming