2001 Bay Area adidas Soccer Classic All-Tournament Team Announced

SAN JOSE, Calif.—The Most Valuable Players and All-Tournament team members were announced today from the recent Bay Area adidas Soccer Classic held Sept. 28 and Sept. 29. at Spartan Stadium. The tournament’s champion, the University of the Pacific, is represented with four players, including the Most Outstanding Goalkeeper and Defensive MVP.

Freshman goalkeeper Cassondra Kaeding was named Most Outstanding Goalkeeper after not allowing a goal in the tournament and recording two shutouts with 11 saves. Kaeding has not allowed a goal in 337 consecutive minutes.

Also representing Pacific as the Defensive MVP is Angela Allgaier who stymied the opposition and was instrumental in holding opponents to just 15 shots in two games.

San Jose State University’s Marie McCann was named the Offensive MVP with three goals and an assist during the weekend, leading the tournament in points. McCann scored two goals and had one assist in the Spartans 3-1 win over Gonzaga. The win broke the Spartans’ five game losing streak.

The All-Tournament Team includes:
Cassondra Kaeding, Goalkeeper, Pacific
Angela Allgaier, Defender, Pacific
Gabby Olivares, Forward, Pacific
Kim Force, Forward, Pacific
Jenna Thompson, Midfielder, Northeastern
Lisa Norlin, Defender, Northeastern
Shannon Dwyer, Midfielder, Northeastern
Marie McCann, Midfielder, San Jose State
Vanessa Afonsa, Forward, San Jose State
Kristina Jacob, Midfielder, San Jose State
Katie O’Brien, Forward, Gonzaga